Amish Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have been a sourdough for years. I've never considered mixing starter with pre-made pancake mix. It was a wonderful marriage. I used Krustez. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were great! We added a dash of cinnamon to the batter. Little thin, maybe next time less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Oops, I didn't use the amish friendship bread starter. I used sourdough starter II. That could be the reason for lack of flavor. These were ok. I like buttermilk pancakes better. My 2 1/2 year old son gobbled them up! The texture was kind of gummy inside. They did rise and seemed kinda blah tasting, even with butter and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I added cinnamon to the batter. What a great way to use up friendship bread batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Everyone ate these up really well. So I gave it 5 stars. Easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were good pancakes... I don't know what everyone's problem is with them. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great. Can't say much for the "butter" and "syrup" that was available to me at the time, but the pancakes themselves were quite good. My only problem was flipping them and they burn easily... but it was the first time I've made pancakes in years so that could be from lack of experience. We ate them all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I thought these were great. Yes, they tasted a bit like sourdough, and they were light enough it was difficult to flip them, but we all loved the lightness and the sourdough flavor. In fact, my 5 kids thought they tasted so good they didn't want syrup or jam on their pancakes. This is a wonderful bonus...much less sticky!! Now I'm going to go look for a homemade buttermilk mix recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMIMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
My family all loved these pancakes. They have a slightly sweet and sour flavor, but not overpowering. They melt in your mouth, and are slightly cake-like in texture. I used a cup of my friendship bread starter on day 10. I also used Bisquick. I will make these AGAIN, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This is a good recipe for sourdough panckaes but I'm not a fan of sourdough pancakes and this recipe has not changed my mind. Not bad tasting but certainly not good or great. Sourdough bread is often heavy and likewise these pancakes are sort of dense and heavy...... not light and fluffy like normal pancakes..... and they have the characteristic yeasty/but sourdoughy taste which I don't think goes over too well in a pancake. For pancakes lovers I'd stick with regular or buttermilk but I don't like sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
These weren't very good. The batter was so thin it was hard to flip the pancakes. I won't make these again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States