Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I halved the sugar and this was still very sweet; the vinegar was also pretty strong. I added a cup of mayo as well to round it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
My husband made this tonight and I was very pleased! I hate mayo, so this was just blessing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Castle Hayne, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
At first I thought this was fantastic but a bit too sweet and oily. The next time I made it I only used 1/2 of the sugar and a little less than 1/2 cup of oil, doubled the mustard AND I found the taste lacking!! Next time I'm going back to the original recipe with no regrets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This is incredible! Everyone who has tried it loves it. My husband said he could eat it every day. I make the recipe exactly as written, I didn't change anything. I've made this many times. Even my dad, who is pretty famous for his (mayonnaise-based) cole slaw thought this was great, which really surprised me. Just try it as written! Serve with a slotted spoon! It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I have made it about 8 times, and every time I make it it tastes divine. I have gotten SO many compliments on this dish. It's my go to for pot-lucks, holidays and parties. I make it exactly as the recipe states, but I use half of the oil. I personally just don't like it too oily. So GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great change from mayo types slaw. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have made this on several occasions and I'm very pleased. My husband refuses to eat mayonnaise or anything associated with it so I had to find a vinegar alternative. Only changes were that I used a couple of packages of the store bought cole slaw mix to save time and left out celery seeds. Like others said, this slaw has a lot of liquid, but also keeps well and tastes even better the next couple of days, in my opinion. Great alternative to mayonnaise versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
delicious! I followed the recipe to a t except for adding a 1/2 tsp of paprika and a tbsp of apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Tart and slightly sweet. This is a great slaw recipe. I have made it several times. There are several people in my church group with allergies that won't allow them to have mayonnaise based slaw so this is the one I make. I add a grated carrot for color and serve with a slotted spoon since there is a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Even my husband will eat this and he hates cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States