Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Took this to a football party and it was THE hit of the meal. People were scrapping over it. I'm still more a fan of the creamy slaws, but even I thought this was really good. I did cut the vinegar and the oil by about 1/4 cup each as I was afraid of it being too wet/sour. Sugar and other ingredients were just right. Didn't get to refrigerate overnight, but even after just an hour or two it tasted woderful! I'll give it 5 stars based on the reception it got!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I really enjoyed the flavor of this recipe! I used the preshredded cabbage (slaw in a bag!) and only had one, so I had to judge how much of the "sauce" to use, but didn't have a problem at all. My husband liked it as well, but I ate almost the entire bowl! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This recipe is a true Amish recipe and is supposed to have lots of liquid, it enables you to keep the salad for 2 weeks, and contrary to the above reviews it does not need to be reduced, you serve it with a slotted spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I've never gotten many compliments on my cooking, but this one is terrific! I fixed it for a church dinner, and now everyone wants a copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Very good slaw recipe. I did only use 1/2 cup sugar just 'cz we try to limit our sugar intake whenever possible and I used half apple cider vinegar and half white vinegar. This is a very good recipe. I would recommend trying it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
My Grandma gave me a recipe like this when I was young and just starting out. Only she chopped a green pepper, and shredded a carrot. And did use as much vinegar as sugar. As far as vinegar goes, she said pick one! I like to take this to summer gatherings, no need to worry about the mayo or miracle whip, refridgeration not needed. When I eat this slaw it take me back to family picnic's with grandma in the 60's, and her saying "It's good for ya!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I made this recipe as written with the addition of a shredded carrot. (I didn't mess with the proportions of oil & vinegar.) It was really good! I was looking for a vinegar-based slaw to re-create the Pittsburgh famous Primanti Brothers sandwiches and this recipe definitely worked. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I made this according to directions, served it at a fishfry, everyone really liked it. The only complaint was from me, I didn't even get to taste it, gotta make more next time. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I am doing low carb, so instead of sugar, splenda took it's place. Wonderful recipe, everyone loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I adjusted this recipe to cook for over 110 people and it was almost all gone! People were all asking for the recipe. It is a winner in my recipe box now! thanks! DND2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States