Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I have made this twice now. First time exactly, second time made some minor changes. Great either way, but I think I nailed it the second time. -use red onion for color -reduce sugar to 3/4 cup -1/2 cup white vinegar, 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar -add very thinly slices of 1 yellow or orange bell pepper for more added color/flavor -add 1-2 tablespoons lightly toasted sesame seeds for added crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This recipe is a true Amish recipe and is supposed to have lots of liquid, it enables you to keep the salad for 2 weeks, and contrary to the above reviews it does not need to be reduced, you serve it with a slotted spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Yippeeeeeeeee! This is a very close copy to the Cole Slaw that is served at Primanti Brothers in Pittsburgh! I am so grateful to have found this recipe! I lived in "da Burgh" for 11 years and missed the slaw. I used 2 (16 oz.) bags of Tri Blend Slaw. Primanti Brothers only uses white cabbage, no carrots or red cabbage that you find in the tri blend. I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup. Yea, this was a little watery but what slaw isn't? I just shook the tupperware bowl prior to serving and used a slotted spoon. Oh, you really need to make this the day PRIOR to eating; it really makes a difference in taste. This is so wonderful, I will be making and taking this everywhere. Not only is it delicious but you don't have to worry about mayonnaise going bad! Thanks for the post Christina!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I've made this a few times and absolutely love the flavor. I use a bag of pre-shredded cabbage/carrot mix and reduce the sugar and oil to 1/2 cup, the vinegar (red wine) to 2/3 cup. Definitely gets better with 'age'. At least a day or two is needed to bring out the best flavor. But I love red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Good, Tart and sweet! This is a different type cole slaw with no mayo added. Be careful to add sugar according to taste. Scaled to 4 servings, added grated carrots, cut sugar back by 1/3 cup instead of 1/2 cup, and used only a small amount of minced onion. I was low on white vinegar, so I added apple cider vinegar (thanks to the input of the Exchange). Next time I will ONLY use 1/4 cup of sugar for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I've been looking for a good sweet/sour coleslaw recipe for a while and this one is it-- very yummy! I used half brown sugar because we ran out of white. I had 28 oz. of pre-shredded cabbage mix and there was way too much dressing and had to drain it off-- next time I'll add another 16 oz. bag. I think the oil could also be cut back a little-- maybe 1/3-1/2 cup? Finally, I used a genrous teaspoon of celery salt in place of the celery seed and salt. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Another excellent cole slaw recipe from allrecipes.com! I don't understand why it is necessary to cook the dressing portion of this recipe--and after boiling, that portion of the recipe takes a long time to cool down. Still, I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was great. I did end up with more liquid than was necessary. I added extra cabbage, but don't recommend that approach. Adding more cabbage diluted and dispersed the wonderful flavor of the dressing. Just leave it alone and use a slotted spoon to drain it as you go with each spoonful you take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
As suggested by another reviewer, I cut back the oil in this recipe to 1/2 cup and it was just fine. I also found that the recipe made way too much dressing for one medium cabbage - I had to pour quite a bit of the dressing off. Next time I'll half the entire recipe for one medium cabbage. Also added grated carrot and finely diced red onion for extra flavor and color. Great sweet/sour slaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I am doing low carb, so instead of sugar, splenda took it's place. Wonderful recipe, everyone loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I have been making this slaw recipe for 50 years, with minor variations (dry instead of wet mustard) and slightly different directions. It is meant to be immersed in the marinade in the refrigerator and removed with a slotted spoon and drained in a mesh strainer before serving. It will keep from 4-6 weeks in its marinade in a cold part of the fridge (if it lasts that long). It does improve with age, becoming more of a condiment-like pickled cabbage than a slaw or salad. In my family it was the indispensible accompaniment to meals with barbecue pork and chicken and for pulled pork or chicken sandwiches. My recipe calls for sprinkling the cabbage and onion layers with 3/4 c. sugar, making a hot marinade (brought to a full boil) with 1/4 c. sugar, dry mustard, 1 c. organic apple cider vinegar, 2 teaspoons salt, 1 tablespoon of celery seed, and 3/4 c. oil, and then poured over the cabbage mixture, which is covered, and allowed to sit out till cools (about 2-3 hours). Then it is placed, with all of the liquid, in a very clean glass container with a tightly fitting glass lid, and stored in a very cold part of the fridge. Keeps for 4-6 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States