Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
super easy and a no-brainer when it comes to spoilage. A light and refreshing alternative to the mayo/cream based slaw dressings. Excellent slaw to take to a cookout or barbecue because there is no mayo in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I've been looking for a good sweet/sour coleslaw recipe for a while and this one is it-- very yummy! I used half brown sugar because we ran out of white. I had 28 oz. of pre-shredded cabbage mix and there was way too much dressing and had to drain it off-- next time I'll add another 16 oz. bag. I think the oil could also be cut back a little-- maybe 1/3-1/2 cup? Finally, I used a genrous teaspoon of celery salt in place of the celery seed and salt. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
My husband loves this! It is simple and fresh, and keeps well for several days in the refrigerator. My nursing infant is sensitive to cabbage now so I am GRIEVING this slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Really good, very light. I cut the sugar in half and it was still pretty sweet. Next time I will probably double the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Simple yet delicious. Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
As suggested by another reviewer, I cut back the oil in this recipe to 1/2 cup and it was just fine. I also found that the recipe made way too much dressing for one medium cabbage - I had to pour quite a bit of the dressing off. Next time I'll half the entire recipe for one medium cabbage. Also added grated carrot and finely diced red onion for extra flavor and color. Great sweet/sour slaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This is absolutely the best cole slaw I have ever eaten! Had a BBQ recently and all the women in the group asked for the recipe. It is outstanding. I Will never make another kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Very good, HOWEVER, the vinegar is sooooo strong. I didn't know if it was just me, but my family also told me it was too vinegar-y. I'll try it one more time with half the vinegar. I hope that works because the taste is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I used 2 (16 oz) bags of pre-shredded cabbage with grated carrots mixed in. Reduced the oil to 1/2 cup per another reviewer's suggestion. Next time I think I'll reduce the vinegar since it was a tad vinegary. I added dried cranberries (like the cole slaw I was served at a restaurant in New York). I think the cranberries enhanced it a lot - added color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This is just not "THE" cold slaw recipe I'm looking for. Not bad, but not great either. I should have cut the sugar by 1/2, we might have liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States