Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Excellent salad - I used a bag of chopped cabbage/carrots and added onions. Easy, peasy - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was fantastic! I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup, used apple cider vinegar, and used celery salt (I didn't have celery seed, so used the salt instead and omitted the regular salt. I also chopped up 6 steips of bacon and added it - gave it a tasty savory component!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is very delicious, however I only gave it 4 stars because the amount of dressing is way to much - I only used 1/3 of the dressing and it covered the salad plenty. I also did not use celery seed or the mustard, as it's not available widely overseas. I replaced vegetable oil with olive oil to make it healthier. I added some other vegetables in also for added crunch and colour (carrots, peppers, celery). The dressing really is what made it, at least I have some left over for other salads, or another slaw. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Christina: This is an AWESOME slaw recipe. My wife really doesn't care much for mayonnaise, and once I reviewed this I thought it was worth a try. Everybody just loved it (including her 92-year old father!). This will become a standard in our household, I think. I didn't (and won't) change a single thing. Thanks so much for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdirondackKid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaGrinch
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
If there's any 2 side dishes I love to eat, it's cole slaw and potato salad. Well, I found the slaw recipe I'll be making from now on! Made this with a few of the suggestions from other reviews - cut down the vinegar and then used half white and half apple cider plus a couple other changes. Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this this evening and it was good after marinating for only a couple of hours. I imagine it will be even better in the morning. A very nice change from my usual creamy dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I am losing it and thought I rated this last year : ) Have made this at least 40 times since then! This is the non-mayo slaw on our rotation and so delicious with BBQ or just plain old saltines. It is absolutely delicious and stays well in the frig, too. I use sweet onions (Videlias when in season)as well as picking out the red cabbage when using the pre-mix slaw packages to prevent it from turning purple. Red onions have the same affect so definitely use white or yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYLEE222

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Made this to recipe dozens of times-delicious. Must say, I usually cheat and use 2 bags of preshredded coleslaw mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Really good. I loved the sweetness and it's lack of mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This Amish Slaw recipe is terrific! My husband hates mayo and generally will not eat coleslaw because most recipes contain it but when I made it this way - he loved it! It does produce a lot of liquid so when I serve it, I strain it but reserve the liquid and if there is any left I put it back into the liquid and pop it back in the fridge because it will be great the next day or so. I cheat and use the pre-shredded cabbage called "coleslaw mix" because it saves time and contains white and purple cabbage which is more colorful. I also add in shredded carrot for more crunch and color. There is plenty of liquid to cover this addition so you could certainly up the amount of veggies without increasing the liquid portion. I am making this for a Memorial Day picnic per enthusiastic request. I always make it the day before because it gets better as it chills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States