Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Absolutely terrific!! Made exactly to recipe except that I used a 16 oz bag of shredded cabbage for the 1 medium head cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
With half the onion and an extra 1/4 c. sugar this is the perfect slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Excellent! I used less sugar, more cabbage and celery seed. Great for a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I have been making this slaw recipe for 50 years, with minor variations (dry instead of wet mustard) and slightly different directions. It is meant to be immersed in the marinade in the refrigerator and removed with a slotted spoon and drained in a mesh strainer before serving. It will keep from 4-6 weeks in its marinade in a cold part of the fridge (if it lasts that long). It does improve with age, becoming more of a condiment-like pickled cabbage than a slaw or salad. In my family it was the indispensible accompaniment to meals with barbecue pork and chicken and for pulled pork or chicken sandwiches. My recipe calls for sprinkling the cabbage and onion layers with 3/4 c. sugar, making a hot marinade (brought to a full boil) with 1/4 c. sugar, dry mustard, 1 c. organic apple cider vinegar, 2 teaspoons salt, 1 tablespoon of celery seed, and 3/4 c. oil, and then poured over the cabbage mixture, which is covered, and allowed to sit out till cools (about 2-3 hours). Then it is placed, with all of the liquid, in a very clean glass container with a tightly fitting glass lid, and stored in a very cold part of the fridge. Keeps for 4-6 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
WOW. I'm eating this right now, three days after I made it. It's so good!!!! I did not have celery seed, and I didn't notice that there is supposed to be oil in the recipe until after I boiled everything (oops!). I drizzled some olive oil over everything to make up for that. Grab a slotted spoon & enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I forgot to add the vegetable oil...and it was fabulous! Also, I used spicy brown mustard and threw in some grated carrot for color. Very affordable to make and soooo refreshing in the hot summer! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I used bagged shredded cabbage and carrots, and I put in 1 and 1/2 bags, because it was too wet. Yummy sweet and sour slaw!! Rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Gorgeous slaw and very versatile when it lasts so long - up to 2 wks in fridge. I used half cup of sugar and also apple cider vinegar instead of the ordinary vinegar. I also added thin slivers of red and yellow peppers and grated raw carrot - it made the most beautiful colourful dish. I sprinkled the top with a few toasted almondsaned walnuts although totally optional. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is a great change from the traditional cole slaw made with mayonaise and it keeps for a long time in the fridge. I will try cutting back a bit on the oil next time as the flavor was very oily to me for the first couple of days but seemed to blend better by the end of day 2 or day 3. Make this one at least a day ahead of time and I think you will be happy with it. Went great with BBQ ribs & baked beans as part of a meal, as well as being a good sandwich topper for lunch the next time or just to eat a bowl by itself. Overall a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Best slaw ever! Still crunchy and even more delicious 2 days later. Great on burgers as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilikejulia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States