Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I've made this several times and have gotten lots of compliments on it. Sometimes I'll cut the sugar down by half. It's good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made 2 different cole slaws for a fish fry we had last Sunday, this one and the normal Marzetti Slaw Dressing style. Boy have I been missing the boat. This was fabulous!! I'm mixing up a batch for 24 as we speak and taking it to Lake Erie this weekend to go with MORE fish. THANKS SO MUCH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was very good, but could someone explain why the dressing is boiled first. With only 1 tsp sugar in the cooked mixture, it can't be to dissolve the sugar. Is it to boil off some of the vinegar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This turned out very well. We don't like mayonnaise in our coleslaw so this will be a new go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksywlsn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
My Russian husband loves this slaw. I sometimes add grated carrots. I also use caraway seeds since I don't stock celery seed in my pantry. I've messed around with the dressing - cutting the sugar and the oil. I found that my husband still likes it if I omit the sugar as called for in the first step. However, I do usually keep all the oil in the dressing or else it doesn't have the right quantity of dressing and its too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Great!! I made this last minute before a meal, and it tasted good without the overnight refrigeration. I will defiantly make this again, but try to make it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful just the way it is with no variations needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My first coleslaw! Used fresh cabbage from the garden. Went over great at the pot luck! Loved that it did not have mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This one is my families favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a great recipe when you want a slaw without mayo. We've gotten so used to it, that I don't miss the mayo version. Lighter, healthier and everyone loves it. Have not messed with the recipe. Is great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States