Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I used two packages of preshredded coleslaw mix and left out the onion (personal preference) Scaled down the oil to 1/2 cup. Really nice slaw to serve with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Excellent. I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it more and more. At the request of my husband, I cut down on the amount of onions in the recipe, but my son said that left out some of the flavor. Go figure. A red onion is definitely recommended, as it's sweet and does add zest. And -- I did follow the advice of another submitter and split the vinegar to 1/2 cup apple cider and 1/2 cup white vinegar -- makes a tremendously positive difference. A great slaw that gets better with age and keeps for days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
My husband tried and loved this recipe. I made it a few times since finding this slaw and will make it again..again..and again. This will become a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Excellent slaw - I made a few changes due to personal preference. I used 1/3 cup sugar instead of a whole cup and the slaw was plenty sweet and savory. A whole cup would have been entirely too much. Also, the recipe called for a prepared mustard - I chose Inglehoffer stone ground mustard and used 1 1/2 tablespoons as opposed to 1 tsp. This is now my "go to" slaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
As a general rule, I hate coleslaw. It's just not my thing. However, I was serving pulled pork and it seemed wrong not to offer coleslaw along side it. I hemmed and hawed through all the coleslaw recipes, settled on this one, and followed it exactly. IT'S AMAZING. Best. Coleslaw. Ever. PERFECT combo of sweet and sour. Best part, no mayo. Thanks for making me a coleslaw fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was wonderful! So good, and I LOVE mayo based anything so for me to switch over to a non-mayo slaw was a big deal. I tried it after I mixed it all because it smelled so good and I ate more than my share! I mixed equal parts of vinegar and sugar, both a little less than a half cup and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. It is a bit on the vinegary side, but that is how I like it, and if you want it sweeter you can just up the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
After years of trying other mayo based slaw recipes I tried the Amish Slaw recipe. I have made it twice, the second time cutting the sugar in half. I did not taste any substantial change but feel much better with the healthy recipe adjustment. LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doniece Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Love the no mayo recipe and the mustard brings a little extra zip to it! I did cut the sugar and oil a bit and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was awesome!! We made our own Primanti Brothers sandwiches and it was dead one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My Mother in Law has been making this recipe for years! I absolutely love it! I've now started making this for big dinners and pot lucks and everyone raves about it and asks for the recipe! An extremely affordable dish that feeds a large crowd - you need to save this recipe to your Recipe Box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States