Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Absolutely YUMMY!!!! My kids even went back for seconds!! Reminded me of a slaw that my grandmother made when I was a kid. So glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
The best coleslaw ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Entire family loved it! I mixed it exactly by recipe, dished some up for my husband then added a diced green pepper to the bowl. It is very similar to a slaw served at a great seafood restaurant in San Antonio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Took it to a party and got rave reviews. Really good. Used three pound cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
i reduced to suger to 1/2 put some carrots very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Very tasty. Sweet n Sour. I had home grown veggies that I added to it, red, yellow and green bell peppers sliced very thin, shredded zuchinni, red onion. I was in a time crunch so I didn't boil the dressing. Just mixed all of the sugar and vinegar until sugar was disolved and, after all the spices were added, wisked vigorously as I drizzled in the oil so it all emulsified. We could have used about 1/2 of the dressing so I'll cut way back next time. Everyone loved it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I used two packages of preshredded coleslaw mix and left out the onion (personal preference) Scaled down the oil to 1/2 cup. Really nice slaw to serve with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Excellent. I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it more and more. At the request of my husband, I cut down on the amount of onions in the recipe, but my son said that left out some of the flavor. Go figure. A red onion is definitely recommended, as it's sweet and does add zest. And -- I did follow the advice of another submitter and split the vinegar to 1/2 cup apple cider and 1/2 cup white vinegar -- makes a tremendously positive difference. A great slaw that gets better with age and keeps for days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
My husband tried and loved this recipe. I made it a few times since finding this slaw and will make it again..again..and again. This will become a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Excellent slaw - I made a few changes due to personal preference. I used 1/3 cup sugar instead of a whole cup and the slaw was plenty sweet and savory. A whole cup would have been entirely too much. Also, the recipe called for a prepared mustard - I chose Inglehoffer stone ground mustard and used 1 1/2 tablespoons as opposed to 1 tsp. This is now my "go to" slaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States