Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
My family does *NOT* like coleslaw with mayo. This is absolutely the best!!!! --- They inhaled it. --it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I made this two days before serving it for dinner. I was worried that the cabbage would be soggy from sitting so long, but found it was still crunchy days later! Plus, all of my friends couldn't get enough. I'm not a big fan of mayonnaise based cole slaw so this is a wonderful substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
There used to be a BBQ restaurant here who served this type of slaw, but they went out of business. I am SO GLAD to have this recipe, as it is JUST like theirs used to be. (except I recall a small amount of diced green pepper in theirs, which I may try adding next time) I've only found this recipe a month ago, and I've already made it twice. This time I used one of the HUGE bags of slaw mix from Sams Club, so I doubled the dressing.... used Splenda this time & its just as good as the time I used sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! Kids however do not... oh well, more for us! If you buy the bags of Dole coleslaw you'll need 2 bags when following the amounts stated in the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong. I just wasn't that thrilled with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATOBOW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This recipe is simple and tastes GREAT great!!!! I made it as the recipe called for and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Excellent recipe. I've made it many many times now. I use all the ingredients as stated with the exception of the 1 tsp sugar - there seems no point to it. I put all the other ingredients except the cabbage in the saucepan and then pour it over the cabbage, mixing well. A grated or finely chopped carrot is a nice addition for color and extra crunch. Sometimes I'll use half Splenda and half white sugar. The salad keeps well in the fridge and that's why it necessary to use the amount of dressing in the recipe. As another reviewer stated, use a slotted spoon to serve the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Love this! Substituted Splenda for sugar to reduce the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very good! And better the next day. My husband loved it, even more then his traditional cole slaw w/mayo. This is the kind of slaw my mother/grandmother made, being from north carolina. I used slightly less sugar, but followed everything else the same. Used a combo of purple and green cabbage and white vinegar. I think using the amount of sugar it asks for, is just fine too! If something already tastes great as is, why mess with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States