Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
It should be noted that a med. head of cabbage weighs about 3 pounds. Others have noted that the recipe makes a lot of dressing for the dish, but they were using pre-packaged shredded cabbage, usually sold in 1-pound bags. This may account for their excess dressing. Also, cut cabbage does weep, so letting the dish season overnight will make it more watery. If you like it less watery, serve it immediately. It will also be crunchier. I used a 3.5 lb. head, and cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup and it was very tasty. This dish got several thumbs up at the last potluck. I didn't care for that much onion taste and will try it with less next time, but overall, a great healthy make-ahead recipe to serve a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great slaw. We put it on sandwiches/hamburgers with fries! Super-duper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
One of my favorite foods! I love this slaw. I follow the recipe exactly, sticking with a nice sweet Vidalia onion and a regular old cabbage. It's fun to set the pretty white/green dish on the table. In itself it isn't so dazzling, but when put on a plate next to some mixed roasted veggies and a nice bratwurst, it looks and tastes oh-so-wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I loved it. My 3 year old daughter liked it as well. I just cut the oil back to 1/2 cup and still it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice; it tastes great, but I'm only giving it four stars because it makes too much dressing. The second time I made it, I also shredded a couple of carrots and two red bell peppers to balance the amount of dressing versus the vegetables. I'll be making it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My significant other, who doesn't like mayo, loves this slaw. To make it lower in calories, I substitute half of the oil for vegetable broth which I thicken with just a touch of cornstarch. I also use Splenda for the sugar with great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
My family does *NOT* like coleslaw with mayo. This is absolutely the best!!!! --- They inhaled it. --it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I made this two days before serving it for dinner. I was worried that the cabbage would be soggy from sitting so long, but found it was still crunchy days later! Plus, all of my friends couldn't get enough. I'm not a big fan of mayonnaise based cole slaw so this is a wonderful substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
There used to be a BBQ restaurant here who served this type of slaw, but they went out of business. I am SO GLAD to have this recipe, as it is JUST like theirs used to be. (except I recall a small amount of diced green pepper in theirs, which I may try adding next time) I've only found this recipe a month ago, and I've already made it twice. This time I used one of the HUGE bags of slaw mix from Sams Club, so I doubled the dressing.... used Splenda this time & its just as good as the time I used sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! Kids however do not... oh well, more for us! If you buy the bags of Dole coleslaw you'll need 2 bags when following the amounts stated in the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States