Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This slaw is great tasting. It is definitely better if you make it the night before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Fantiastic. We like it better then the creamy cole slaw. I've alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOPONY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe, I've made it twice in the last two weeks. I was glad to find a really good slaw without mayo since my hubby doesn't put his lunch in the fridge at work. I altered the recipe by using 1/2 cups of sugar, vinegar & oil. I used red wine vinegar, which is pretty sweet by itself. I also added carrots, red bell pepper and Craisins. Make sure to refridgerate it overnight! Oh, and let the "sauce" cool completely before mixing or it will wilt the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBear

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I know I've found the right recipe when my husband and son ask for seconds! And they did! I used 1 bag of packaged slaw mix and halved the ingredients. Next time I am using 2 bags! (Then I can have seconds too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I had two of my "foodie" friends ask me for the recipe for this. I have now made it several times, even adding sliced radishes and sliced raw rutabagas to the mix as I had an abundance in my garden. I used olive oil just because that was what I had on hand. It does keep much better than the mayo based slaws. Is in my favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was not a big hit with our family. The flavor was sort of bland for uw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This slaw is awesome. I also followed the suggestions, 3/4 c sugar, 1/3 c white vinegar, 1/3 c cider vinegar, and 1/2 c veg oil. I also added 2 carrots shredded to the cabbage. It was perfect! There will be extra liquid, just use a slotted spoon as others said. I can't wait to get another cabbage in my CSA box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I made this for a family gathering keeping in mind one of the guests who does not like mayo dressings. This salad was a hit. Everyone liked it and suggested it be one of our summer staples because it doesn't contain mayo. It does have a lot of dressing, but that isn't a problem when served with a slotted spoon. I'm not sure how long it would keep, because it all went the day of our gathering. I did refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
So good and exactly what I was looking for. I had some coleslaw from an Amish community once and thought it to be the best coleslaw I have ever had! This is definitely a keeper. I used a bag of slaw, but didn't find straining the slaw to be too bothersome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Love this! As suggested I cut oil to 1/2 cup. I also cut the sugar in half and left it out of the dressing altogether. I added a pear (because that's what I had) to make up for the sugar I left out. Apples or raisins would also be great. Just be sure to add plenty so that you have some fruit with every bite. DH & 11 year old son also loved it. We ate it right after I made it and there were no leftovers. I'll bet it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoshone, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States