Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Loved everything about this dish. The tang, the sweetness, the crispness. this is what I have been searching for. Can't wait to bring it to the summer parties, got to love the no mayo! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Delicious! I added 1 granny smith apple chopped, and 3/4 cup of dry roasted peanuts. Just before serving, I tossed in 1/2 cup of dried cranberries! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this to use in Primanti's style sandwiches and it was perfect! I used about 1/2 cup of sugar to toss the slaw and made the rest as the recipe specified. It did make a lot of extra dressing but if you use a slotted spoon it shouldn't be a problem. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is the kind of salad I adore. Fresh and light without heavy creamy sauces. Yes there was a lot of vinaigrette, but it kept the salad lovely and moist and I happen to love mopping up the juices with some crusty French bread! I did add some grated carrot for colour and thinly sliced the onion instead of chopping it, otherwise I followed the recipe as stated. Next time though, I will reduce the amount of sugar used by a third as it was a little on the sweet side. Perfect otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
First I would like to say that I have made this three times... The first exactly as called for, including leaving it in the fridge overnight and it IS wonderful. I made changes, but only because of MY personal preferences. I make the dressing as is (I used peanut oil), but instead of putting it on the salad I use it more like a salad dressing. I divvy up my prepackaged cabbage mix into 3's that way I can enjoy it for many days and I put the dressing on an hour before I eat it since I REALLY don't like it "soggy". Then I add extra purple cabbage and use red onion. I definitely recommend trying this recipe if your in the mood for a fantastic slaw especially one without mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virenda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this the day before for my son's birthday party & the red onions bled into everything & I found it to be on the soggy side. I wouldn't recommend making it the day before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Excellent, loved it. Easy to make and tastes just like what we call pickled cabbage in my hometown. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is an EXCELLENT version of Real Amish Slaw!!! You won't be sorry you made it!!! Follow the recipe for the dressing tho...it DOES need all of that dressing to be authentic, and to last a little longer than a regular slaw would! Definitely 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My family doesn't care for mayo so this slaw was perfect ... My whole family loved it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This slaw is great tasting. It is definitely better if you make it the night before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States