Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by DaGrinch
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
If there's any 2 side dishes I love to eat, it's cole slaw and potato salad. Well, I found the slaw recipe I'll be making from now on! Made this with a few of the suggestions from other reviews - cut down the vinegar and then used half white and half apple cider plus a couple other changes. Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this this evening and it was good after marinating for only a couple of hours. I imagine it will be even better in the morning. A very nice change from my usual creamy dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I am losing it and thought I rated this last year : ) Have made this at least 40 times since then! This is the non-mayo slaw on our rotation and so delicious with BBQ or just plain old saltines. It is absolutely delicious and stays well in the frig, too. I use sweet onions (Videlias when in season)as well as picking out the red cabbage when using the pre-mix slaw packages to prevent it from turning purple. Red onions have the same affect so definitely use white or yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYLEE222

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Made this to recipe dozens of times-delicious. Must say, I usually cheat and use 2 bags of preshredded coleslaw mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Really good. I loved the sweetness and it's lack of mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This Amish Slaw recipe is terrific! My husband hates mayo and generally will not eat coleslaw because most recipes contain it but when I made it this way - he loved it! It does produce a lot of liquid so when I serve it, I strain it but reserve the liquid and if there is any left I put it back into the liquid and pop it back in the fridge because it will be great the next day or so. I cheat and use the pre-shredded cabbage called "coleslaw mix" because it saves time and contains white and purple cabbage which is more colorful. I also add in shredded carrot for more crunch and color. There is plenty of liquid to cover this addition so you could certainly up the amount of veggies without increasing the liquid portion. I am making this for a Memorial Day picnic per enthusiastic request. I always make it the day before because it gets better as it chills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent!!! I took the advice of others and used bags of prepared slaw and made one day ahead for flavors to blend. Wonderful change of pace. And, great for picnics or potlucks since there is no mayonnaise. Thank you, Christina J!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used apple-cider vinegar instead of white and it turned out great. Also used only 1/2 cup of sugar. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very good slaw. I used 2 bags of slaw mix and spicy brown mustard...everything else as written. My husband loves slaw without mayo and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States