Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
LOVED THIS SLAW OVER BBQ - I reduced the sugar to 3/4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Awesome slaw!! Family favorite! Taste great at any stage of the pickling process. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I also live in Amish country. My mother made this recipe but added shredded green bell pepper at times making what the amish call "pepper slaw".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Made this for the first time today for a luncheon. Reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and used red wine vinegar (based on previous reviews). Chopped green and red cabbage and added matchstick carrots. Turned out great! Forgot to add onions but I'm sure the onions would even make it even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I love slaw that isn't made with mayo. This recipe did last a very long time. We made a big batch and our event got rained out, so it was wonderful that it didn't go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Tried a-lot of slaw recipes on here and this was by far the best delicious sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by payden bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Bartlett McPhail
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made this recipe for a family BBQ and didn't change a thing other then I doubled the recipe. This slaw is fantastic !!! Sweet ,tangy and tasty !! I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Loved this vinegar based coleslaw. My husband is not a fan of mayonnaise based slaw recipes so I am always looking for a good one with a vinegar base. This is just the right amount of sweetness and tartness. It also keeps for a long time. Make at least a day ahead of time to let the flavors mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I halved the sugar and this was still very sweet; the vinegar was also pretty strong. I added a cup of mayo as well to round it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
My husband made this tonight and I was very pleased! I hate mayo, so this was just blessing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Ross

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Castle Hayne, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States