Amish Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Left out the carrots and celery. Have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Great flavor, don't change a thing. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have made this twice now for different parties. Both times all of it was eaten. That says a lot when it is gone quickly. The only change is I used less sugar. This takes longer to make than traditional potato salad but it is so worth the extra time and steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Tastes just like the salad my mother made when I was a child. I used to love eating it while it was still warm. She used evaporated milk and added strained pickle relish, which I think I'll do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meemps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this a few years ago for my mother's birthday and it has become my signature dish. Anytime there is a family gathering, my family requests this potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darthur
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I've tried many different recipes, this is by far the best I've made! It's a bit sweet (which I like) and the dressing is very creamy. Tastes like the Amish Potato Salad you buy at the store/deli, but without all the chemical ingredients & preservatives. I'm not a mayonnaise fan (yes, I'm one of those "Miracle Whip people"), but I used 1/2 Hellman's/Best Foods and 1/2 Miracle Whip which probably added to the sweetness. I might try just a serving with a bit of pickle relish (sweet or dill?), but I don't think I can improve on this recipe. I followed it exactly and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darthur

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The flavor is excellent, but like some other reviewers, the salad dressing was too runny and way too abundant given the salad ingredients. I'm disappointed with the result after the time, ingredients, and expectations that went into it. I'm hoping that a day later, more of the dressing will have absorbed into the salad ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Love this recipe! Been making it for years. I shred my carrots instead of chopping them. A fav in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is awesome! I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup and would use even less next time. The recipe is labor intensive, but potato salad, to me, is a special get-together food that I only eat occasionally. Thus it is worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States