Amish Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I just opened Julie's Cafe in Elkhart, IN on Oct. 8th, 2014 & last week I was asked to cater a company staff luncheon/meeting for the field technicians of a local branch of a national corporation. I had made a batch of this as a side dish choice in my Cafe so when I met with her to do a tasting I took this as one of my offerings....:She loved it!! Ordered 5 lbs of it as one of the sides. When I made the initial batch, I didn't have plain vinegar in the pantry, so I used red wine vinegar & it adds a little zing to it so I keep using that. Tx!! Julie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Left out the carrots and celery. Have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Great flavor, don't change a thing. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have made this twice now for different parties. Both times all of it was eaten. That says a lot when it is gone quickly. The only change is I used less sugar. This takes longer to make than traditional potato salad but it is so worth the extra time and steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Tastes just like the salad my mother made when I was a child. I used to love eating it while it was still warm. She used evaporated milk and added strained pickle relish, which I think I'll do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meemps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this a few years ago for my mother's birthday and it has become my signature dish. Anytime there is a family gathering, my family requests this potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darthur
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I've tried many different recipes, this is by far the best I've made! It's a bit sweet (which I like) and the dressing is very creamy. Tastes like the Amish Potato Salad you buy at the store/deli, but without all the chemical ingredients & preservatives. I'm not a mayonnaise fan (yes, I'm one of those "Miracle Whip people"), but I used 1/2 Hellman's/Best Foods and 1/2 Miracle Whip which probably added to the sweetness. I might try just a serving with a bit of pickle relish (sweet or dill?), but I don't think I can improve on this recipe. I followed it exactly and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darthur

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The flavor is excellent, but like some other reviewers, the salad dressing was too runny and way too abundant given the salad ingredients. I'm disappointed with the result after the time, ingredients, and expectations that went into it. I'm hoping that a day later, more of the dressing will have absorbed into the salad ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Love this recipe! Been making it for years. I shred my carrots instead of chopping them. A fav in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States