Amish Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
This is a really good recipe, it is however sweet, if you don't like a sweeter tasting potato salad this is not for you. I did not use all the dressing on my potato salad and used the rest up in some chicken salad adding onion and celery and a few shakes of salad supreme and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Slightly too sweet, but still very good. I'll add less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I just opened Julie's Cafe in Elkhart, IN on Oct. 8th, 2014 & last week I was asked to cater a company staff luncheon/meeting for the field technicians of a local branch of a national corporation. I had made a batch of this as a side dish choice in my Cafe so when I met with her to do a tasting I took this as one of my offerings....:She loved it!! Ordered 5 lbs of it as one of the sides. When I made the initial batch, I didn't have plain vinegar in the pantry, so I used red wine vinegar & it adds a little zing to it so I keep using that. Tx!! Julie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Left out the carrots and celery because when I first made it with carrots and celery, we didn't like it. This is the only potato salad I make. I was buying the Amish Potato and Macaroni Salad from Walmart. But they recently changed the recipe. It's no longer sweet and has very little, if any, egg. So now I am back to this recipe. And my kids and husband are happy about it. My mom grew up in Pennsylvania Dutch country also, and I'm sure she would have loved this too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Great flavor, don't change a thing. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have made this twice now for different parties. Both times all of it was eaten. That says a lot when it is gone quickly. The only change is I used less sugar. This takes longer to make than traditional potato salad but it is so worth the extra time and steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Tastes just like the salad my mother made when I was a child. I used to love eating it while it was still warm. She used evaporated milk and added strained pickle relish, which I think I'll do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meemps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this a few years ago for my mother's birthday and it has become my signature dish. Anytime there is a family gathering, my family requests this potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darthur
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I've tried many different recipes, this is by far the best I've made! It's a bit sweet (which I like) and the dressing is very creamy. Tastes like the Amish Potato Salad you buy at the store/deli, but without all the chemical ingredients & preservatives. I'm not a mayonnaise fan (yes, I'm one of those "Miracle Whip people"), but I used 1/2 Hellman's/Best Foods and 1/2 Miracle Whip which probably added to the sweetness. I might try just a serving with a bit of pickle relish (sweet or dill?), but I don't think I can improve on this recipe. I followed it exactly and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darthur

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States