Amish Peanut Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Fast, fabulous, and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeCooksNomNoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
this was delicious! i didn't have corn syrup so substituted 1 cup sugar and 1/4 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imasharm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Mmmm supper yummy! I just made this and it turned out great. At first when I threw all of the ingredients in the bowl I thought "How am I going to stir this? They're all different consistency's." Honestly, I thought I was going to make a mess but everything folded in just fine. It's very creamy. I wouldn't say sticky. Would I make this again? Ummm yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElleDeThurmont

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is a decent recipe. Simple, easy and quick. While I didn't think it was too sweet and the marshmallow creme didn't stand out, but the peanut butter was also very light. It's a total go back and dip your finger in it again type of recipe, that you should totally watch ;-) But it spreads very quickly and all over the place if your not watching. And you'll have a mess everywhere. I can see me making again and tweaking a bit to get it from being super runny to a more spreadable fashion. I think the amount of corn syrup is a bit overwhelming on the runny-ness factor. I did like the flavor but felt it needed to be increased on the peanut butter flavor. I think the corn syrup needs to be decreased and the peanut butter and marshmallow creme needs to be increased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
yummy! the kids eat this all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious. But I blew the motor of my food processor on this because it's so thick. We're in Amish country too and this is a lot heavier on the corn syrup than what I've seen. I would add more peanut butter but I'm out. We're putting it on crackers but I'm not letting anybody dip because the crackers will break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I have bought similar 'Peanut Butter Cream' from many different Amish stores, and this one rates right up there too. We love this stuff, either on something or as a dip for apples, or even by itself on a spoon. I also enjoy the similar one made with molasses, though it has a slightly different name, peanut butter schmeare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I live in Ohio and visit Amish country often. This stuff is sold at just about every authentic Amish restaurant and many roadside markets etc. You put it on bread folks -- just like you would peanut butter or butter. They serve it with white and wheat dinner rolls before your meal comes. It's a sweet spread you put on a roll, bagel, English muffin, whatever -- instead of jam. It's sweet; the Amish have a major sweet tooth. If you love peanut butter and you aren't allergic to something that isn't so good for you every now and again, this is going to ring your bell. Kids love it. My 42 year-old husband loves it. My 67 year-old mother loves it. It's just a nice treat and interesting change from your basic jam/butter/PB and we never leave Amish country without a tub of it. Now we can make it every once in a while at home! I have asked the Amish women how this is made and they told me it has marshmallow cream and corn syrup so I know this recipe is right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I don't know what to think of this stuff? But, I may also be the only person who has never tried it, that rated it on here. It really is good. The consistency if very different then I expected. It is super gooey yet sticky. I am not sure what to put it on either? It seems like it would be like putting a peanut butter dessert on toast? But, then again people eat honey and chocolate spreads for breakfast on bread. I did scale the recipe way down though, to about 1/4 cup, to try it. I bet kids would go crazy over this though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
in my family, we like to make fluff-a-nutter sandwiches with the spread. it goes great with soup and salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States