Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was wonderful!!! Was not to sweet at all those people are crazy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I am from Ohio Amish country. I love a good hearty meatloaf. This meatloaf was too sweet and mushy, and reminded me only a little of the Amish meatloaves I am familiar with. I didn't add any sugar to the meat but, with so much ketchup (which is all sugar anyway!) it was still very sweet. I had a ton left over, so the next day, I sliced it and put the slices under the broiler. This helped with the mushiness a bit so none went to waste, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Interesting departure from traditional recipe. Very sweet. The crackers gave it a richness that gave some balance to the sweet. The glaze was great. The bacon was a nice addition. Next time I will eliminate the brown sugar in the meat. Just a bit too much sweet for my families taste. I must admit though, I kept slicing off "one more little piece"! It must be addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I have never met a meatloaf I like, until now. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I am a meatloaf officionado. I make it dozens of different ways and am always looking for new takes on an old dish. This one was fabulous. I didn't find it sweet at all. It does make a lot of sauce so you could cut that in half. I used more meat and only 1 egg and it was the perfect consistency. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivvaughan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
The whole family liked this one with minor changes. I used half the onion because we don't like onion overpowering meat flavor and about 1/3 of the sauce that goes on top. I used oats instead of crackers. I also substituted half of the ground beef for ground venison just because that is what I have on hand. This will become my go to meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
ow my this is very sweet. if i make this again will cut the sugar. Nice and moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I have used this recipe many times. My family are all crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Not terrible, but too sweet. I'll make it again but with less sugar and a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made this as in directions. Used ground sirloin for less fat. Used apple cider vinegar. Drained the fat before adding glaze. Used digital thermometer and cooked to 160 degrees. Took close to 90 minutes. I am fond of Brown Sugar Meatloaf and this is my new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States