Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Our family was crazy for this meatloaf. I followed the directions as stated the first time I made it. It was wonderful. Since then I have made the same recipe but used ground turkey and left off the bacon. It too was very tasty and is now a family favorite. It is a bit sweet for some people and I believe one could reduce the brown sugar in both the loaf and the sauce to remedy. I think any of the reduced calorie/salt items today could be used in this and it will still maintain the great taste of this loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Other than omitting the bacon (because I didnt have any), and skipping the glaze at the end (because I was lazy), I followed this recipe as listed and it was DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was soooooo good. My family loved it. My kids are picky eaters and had 2nds. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Taste almost exactly like my Grandma's recipe. My husband and daughter both loved it and had 2nd helpings (this never happens). I will used less onion next time, it was a little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNICHOLSLCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I tried this recipe last weekend, except I just layered the whole top of the meatloaf with bacon, that way every bite had bacon in it. This recipe was delicious! Best meatloaf ever. I also used garlic butter flavored club crackers instead of just butter flavored. It is sweet but when you combine it with the smoky bacon flavor, it is a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was phenominal!!! Now I am constantly being begged to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Very simple to make and glaze that is added at end was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjimdt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years now and thought it was time to give my review. This is by far the best "meatloaf" recipe I have found. I do cut the sugar back by 1/2. I also cut my baking time by 15 minutes as in a 9 x 13 glass dish it gets over done for 1 hour. Also my mom and sister both use this recipe now. Great keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe, my step-daughter wasn't crazy about the idea of meatloaf for dinner this evening, but, when it was ready she seemed impressed, my wife liked it as well. I added about 1/2 tsp. of tobasco sauce to the "glaze" after I cut the glaze recipe in half. I didn't have eggs so it fell apart a little bit, but, it was delicious. Will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnsthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States