Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I made this for the first time, and everyone loved it. DH said it was "incredible" and the best meat loaf he ever had. Next time I may add a few more cracker crumbs to firm it up a little more - it was so moist that it did not hold together well when I was taking it out of the pan. But all 3 sons agreed the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Really delicious, hubby gobbled up the entire loaf in 2 days . He commented it was the best meatloaf I ever made, the one thing we both agreed on was that there was too much sauce on the top, next time I will cut in 1/2. It may sound sweet but the vinegar and mustard cut the sweetness..This one a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Thank you for this great recipe. I have been searching for a really good meatloaf recipe and I know I have found it. I made it for dinner this evening and my family LOVED it. My son told me to throw away all my other meatloaf recipes and only use this recipe from now on. I intend to do just that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This meatloaf is the best I've ever tasted. I have made it numerous times and I have a co-worker who made it and loves it, too. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This turned out to be the best meatloaf I ever made. It stays together and my family finished it in one seating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is a great recipe!!! My husband loved it. I have tried many meatloaf recipes and this is the best. Will cook it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
What a hit this meatloaf was! I am known for trying all sorts of meatloaves just for the fun of it. Out of maybe 50 different recipes I now have 4 that are my all time favorites and this Amish Meatloaf is one of those 4! Both of my little girls LOVED it ~ and one isn't even a fan of meatloaf. Just enough sweetness to make it kid friendly and the bacon is a plus for those who enjoy the *bacon burger* taste. Thanks so much for passing this recipe on! I will be making this one quite often! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This was a terrific dish after I made the following changes. Meatloaf needs to cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes, carefully drain fat, add topping (make 1/2 of recipe topping because the original recipe is too much), bake 15 more minutes with the topping, THEN broil the top. So Delicious! I used good'ole saltine crackers. I would even try this with dry oatmeal instead of the crackers. Next time I'll reduce the brown sugar in the recipe to 1/8 cup...maybe even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
To quote my husband, the meatloaf enthusiast, "This is the best meatloaf EVER!" And he is really quite a judge of meatloaf. I've tried several other meatloaf recipes from AllRecipes, and this is far and away our favorite. (I'm really not a meatloaf fan, but I even liked this one a lot.) I made two changes -- I cut the amount of brown sugar in the glaze to 1/4 cup, and I broiled the meatloaf briefly before adding the glaze, to get the bacon a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I am a private chef for a doctor and his family. I have tried several different "meatloaf" recipes and this, by far, ranks way up there... as a new family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States