Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Good meatloaf...mine was a little on the sweet side so I will cut back on the brown sugar a bit. I also used flavored bread crumbs instead of the crackers and added some parmesan cheese into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I'm sorry but I can't understand the good reviews. I made this as instructed and it came out extremely bland! It was very lacking in flavor. My kids asked me not to make it again. When I took it out of the oven it was half raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is hands down the best meatloaf recipe that I've ever used. The glaze with the brown sugar, plus the brown sugar/vinegar gives it a taste all its own. I had such raves over the one I prepared for my family that it is from this day foward my recipe. The only thing I recomend, as with all my dishes is USE good meat i.e. ground round/ground chuck, don't cheat yourself and use some old 70/30 or just cheap hamburger meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Whole family loved this, but I used my own glaze on top. 1/4 c brown suger, 1 cup ketchup and 1/4 t of vinegar... Its the same glaze I use on my meatballs. Any how I had friends of my husband swing by. I offered them to eat. they passed at 1st and my husband talked them into it. well they loved it, today I posted what I was making for dinner on Facebook, and thery are upset with me for not inviting them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We did not care for this recipe. My entire family of 5, would not eat it after one bite! It was way too sweet with all the brown sugar in the meatloaf and the topping. Additionally, the topping destroyed the flavor of the meatloaf and added an odd sweet barbeque flavor. The recipe did not call for spraying the pan; therefore, it stuck to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Some of the best meatloaf I've had, it was a little sweet, I think next time I'll leave out the brown sugar all together, I also took other's advice and added some seasonings, sea salt, pepper and garlic powder. put less ketchup in and added worchestershire sauce and a little liquid smoke flavoring. I also put 4 strips of bacon on top and used my homemade bbq sauce with a little bit of mustard mixed in to top it. I cooked it for an hour then turned the broiler on to cook the bacon a bit more, then put the bbq sauce on and broiled a little bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I hate to be one of those people who changes everything, but.... based on the other reviews, I left the sugar out of the meatloaf mix. I also didn't realize the recipe called for Ritz, so I subbed toasted plain bread crumbs. I also added half of a chopped green bell pepper and a medium onion and a package of dry onion soup mix. And I left out the bacon. So, it was in the spirit of the Amish meatloaf, if not exactly to the letter. It was very good and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKELHOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great and easy recipe! I have made it many times and have always had success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
My husband is the meatloaf lover in our family, the kids and I not so much. But, after making this meatloaf, the boys and I were won over and have joined my husband in enjoying meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I really liked this but my husband thought it was to sweet, tried cutting the brown sugar but he still wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States