Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Our family was crazy for this meatloaf. I followed the directions as stated the first time I made it. It was wonderful. Since then I have made the same recipe but used ground turkey and left off the bacon. It too was very tasty and is now a family favorite. It is a bit sweet for some people and I believe one could reduce the brown sugar in both the loaf and the sauce to remedy. I think any of the reduced calorie/salt items today could be used in this and it will still maintain the great taste of this loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Other than omitting the bacon (because I didnt have any), and skipping the glaze at the end (because I was lazy), I followed this recipe as listed and it was DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was soooooo good. My family loved it. My kids are picky eaters and had 2nds. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Taste almost exactly like my Grandma's recipe. My husband and daughter both loved it and had 2nd helpings (this never happens). I will used less onion next time, it was a little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNICHOLSLCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I tried this recipe last weekend, except I just layered the whole top of the meatloaf with bacon, that way every bite had bacon in it. This recipe was delicious! Best meatloaf ever. I also used garlic butter flavored club crackers instead of just butter flavored. It is sweet but when you combine it with the smoky bacon flavor, it is a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was phenominal!!! Now I am constantly being begged to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Very simple to make and glaze that is added at end was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjimdt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years now and thought it was time to give my review. This is by far the best "meatloaf" recipe I have found. I do cut the sugar back by 1/2. I also cut my baking time by 15 minutes as in a 9 x 13 glass dish it gets over done for 1 hour. Also my mom and sister both use this recipe now. Great keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe, my step-daughter wasn't crazy about the idea of meatloaf for dinner this evening, but, when it was ready she seemed impressed, my wife liked it as well. I added about 1/2 tsp. of tobasco sauce to the "glaze" after I cut the glaze recipe in half. I didn't have eggs so it fell apart a little bit, but, it was delicious. Will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnsthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States