Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kcos Yeknom
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
The bomb.com. So delicious moist and flavorful. Reduced the sugar amount some but everything thing else was used as follows. My fav meatloaf so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kcos Yeknom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
TOO sweet - need to back off on the brown sugar and ketchup on top. Mushy inside too - not sure how to dry it out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lehman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
My husband said this was better than his mom's! I threw it together in a hurry so missed the vinegar and mustard in the glaze. I did sprinkle a bit of onion soup mix and a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce both in the raw meat and the sauce. I used 4 slices of bacon. Next time I will try to wrap the loaf in bacon, that was my husbands favourite part. It does require longer cooking time with more bacon but well worth the wait. I didn't find it too sweet but I only eyeballed the measurements. I'll perfect it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
It was great! The only two things I did differently were a) used regular saltines because that was all I had and b) made only half the sauce because of the "sweet" reviews. A) worked well with saltines and B) will make the whole batch of sauce next time. It was good but more would have been great. Definitely a keeper recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Ferguson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Best ever! This recipe has brought meatloaf back to our family menu. I do cut the basting sauce in 1/2 but otherwise make exactly as written! This is on the menu tonight once again with scalloped potatoes and buttered green peas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! My in tire family loves it, including my picky eaters. Yhanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe calls and my family was all over me about making it again. One of my boys has autism and he's quite picky about what he eats. He said it was the best he'd ever had. They even ate the leftovers and that never happens. It was perfectly moist and I had minimal grease in the pan. It is very filling! I will make the glaze in half tonight because it was a little too sweet. Yes, I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I doubled the recipe using almost 5lbs of 80% beef, did not double the brown sugar in the meat mixture (I thought it would be too sweet for my family). Used one very large onion (which I would use maybe a small/medium) next time. I used every single slice of a 12 oz. package of Applewood smoked bacon (cooked half way on a cookie sheet in the oven) prior to placing over the 2 very large loaves. Sautéed onions in the bacon grease before adding to meat mixture and placed two slices of bread under the loaves (one on a cookie sheet and the other in a glass 9-1/2x11 baking dish. I doubled every single ingredient (including the brown sugar) for the topping and left just a small amount on the side for extra sauce (which we LOVE) and it was NOT TOO MUCH! It was perfect. I used raw apple cider vinegar as I always use for cooking. I had only 2 sleeves of "buttery crackers" which was not enough so I added some plain crackers that I had on hand (worked out fine). My family from 10 to 56 years old loved this meatloaf. My 15 year old stated that it did not need the bacon, which I agreed BUT it gives it a different flavor (in a good way) WITH THE BACON!! What doesn't taste good with bacon?? Thanks for this recipe, I don't think I'll make it any other way from now on :) Bon Appétit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Best meatloaf recipe ever. If you like sweet, this ones for you! I would really like to see if I can do it sugar free by replacing the brown sugar. Replaced the crackers with bread crumbs and its still delicious. We have made this recipe a few times and changed it slightly every time and its always excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flint Withers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was really good. I did everything as written only I halved the brown sugar in both the loaf and the glaze. It was still pretty sweet, but the right amount of sweetness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States