Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. It is the meatloaf I grew up eating at home, at others' homes and in restaurants in VA. I never tasted unsweetened meatloaf with brown gravy until I was 33 years old and was visiting in CA. If you feel "something is missing" try substituting horseradish for the mustard in the topping sauce. Also, if you're using a sweet ketsup you may want to reduce the amount of sugar in both the meatloaf and the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I cooked this for 32 men last week. The calculation was perfect. They all think I'm a cook now. This is the best meatloaf ever. Most and just good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I've been trying to find a recipe for the perfect meatloaf. This wasn't it, but it was still really good. My toddler ate all of his, and my husband had two servings AND a sandwich for a snack. I halved the recipe, and it was gone within 12 hours! I made no changes to the ingredients, except to add a little garlic powder and Worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. Also, if you don't like recipes from this site such as "Grandpa's Coney Sauce" or "Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue" or most baked bean sauces you won't like this (this is a really common sweet/sour taste used in a lot of recipes). Anyway, my family really enjoyed this. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I left out 1 cp of cracker crumbs, it seemed like a bit much. I also used a little less ketchup and sugar. I didn't use the bacon at all. My husband really loved it. I thought it was missing a little something. Next time I'm going to add a little Worchestershire and some Schilling Montreal Steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Pretty good. The sauce is a little too sweet for us so I think we will cut down the BS next time and we used apple cider vinegar. GOOD STUFF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Springs, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I made this as written, warning Husband that other reviewers had found it too sweet. As someone who douses his breakfast bacon and sausage with maple syrup, he said he didn't mind. Of course, it turned out that it was indeed a touch too sweet for him (I personally couldn't eat more than half a mouthful). I'm gonna scrape the sauce topping off, and make it into sandwiches tomorrow. Other than the sweetness issue, this is a good recipe - the loaf held together nicely, and had a good general flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
very sweet, but pretty good. After making this a few times I've altered this a bit to cut back a little on the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I really liked this recipe, and so did the rest of my family. If I ever make it again, however, I will use less vinegar and not add the bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I have made this several times and every time I get rave reviews. The key for those who say it is greasy is to use ground sirloin or a low fat meat; I always put a few slices of bread on the bottom of the pan and it absorbs the grease. If it is too sweet cut back on the brown sugar, I add 2 tablespoons and it is perfect, even for those who hate meatloaf!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This makes a wonderful meatloaf! I cut the recipe in half, including 1-lb ground beef instead of 2-lb's. I can't recommend changing anything on it........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States