Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I haven't read many reviews but I have to add my two cents. I've made this twice. First time I followed it almost exactly (I had to make homemade ketchup as I never buy the stuff) and it was wonderful! Second time, I added some spicy Italian sausage to the meat mix and used all BBQ sauce in place of ketchup and added a few drops of hickory smoke to the meat mix. I also omitted the bacon.and did not use any salt. My husband and I aren't into sweetish meat meals but this one (to us anyway) is NOT overly sweet like a few reviewers have stated. The BBQ sauce gave the glaze a lovely dark and very shiny colour. I cooked and cooled it and left it for one night in the fridge for the flavours to blend better and while the wait was a trial, it was WORTH it. I will try NO OTHER meatloaf recipe now after years of testing many. This is the Real Meatloaf McCoy. Thanks, Duano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Best ever meatloaf. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
After reading the reviews, I altered the recipe a bit to fit my families taste. Firstly, I cut the recipe in half as I didn't need 8 servings. I used 2/3 cup seasoned bread crumbs as I didn't have any crackers for crumbs. A lot of people either omitted the bacon or complained that it didn't crisp up. I decided to chop up the bacon and saute it with the onions instead of laying the bacon on top of the meatloaf. I used 2 slices of bacon in the mix. I also added some garlic salt, Worcestershire sauce, and pepper to the mix. I omitted the vinegar from the topping as I know my husband would not have liked it. All in all,we were really happy with this meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mount Washington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
It could have been how I made it, I put it in the crock pot for lack of timing later in the evening. I checked on it and kept sucking out any fat every hour or so. Cooked on high for about 5 hours, and then added the topping and cooked on low for about 45 minutes. It was good but really mushy, and maybe a little too much ketchup? I'd try it again with maybe 1 egg and less ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Made this tonight and everyone loved it! No one found it "too sweet", but actually liked the bit of sweetness that it had. I followed the recipe to the T and it turned out so moist and delicious. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I thought this was very good. I used herb snack crackers. My girlfriend thought the tomato glaze on top was a bit too sweet but I loved it. I did not add the bacon on top either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was way to sweet for us however we did pan fry the leftovers for lunch the next day so it didn't go to waste. I'm sure there are plenty out there that will like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Best meatloaf ever! There may be more topping than needed though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Not my favorite, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chunky Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States