Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This is great! I did make some changes due to personal preferences: 4 eggs, 1 1/2c mayonnaise, 2 dill pickle spears, yellow bell pepper, 2 celery stalks, apple cider vinegar, dill weed, crushed red pepper flakes, garlic powder, only 1/4c sugar, and Ditaloni rather than elbow macaroni (you get more of a balance between pasta and sauce). This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
It was far too sweet for me. I had to add plain mayo, add more spices, apple cider vinegar and lemon juice. At least it's a versatile base for macaroni, coleslaw and potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Very yummy! I did not add sugar because I used miracle whip. I will definitely be making this one again (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
After reading numerous reviews, I used an entire 1# package of pasta. I also cut the sugar to slightly less than 1/4 cup, and used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 miracle whip. Delicious! I've never made macaroni salad before but this definitely hits the mark - thanks for posting Connie, and to all the posters who took the time to review and post their modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Well worth all the work, true amish macaroni salad. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup and it was still sweet. Otherwise this is a tasty summer salad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Husband and i didnt not like this recipe at all. Wayyyyy to sweet and i even cut the sugar back to a little under 1/2 cup. Will not try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Husband loves amish potato and macaroni salad because it is quite sweet. So far, out of all the amish style recipes we have tried, this is his favorite. In fact, it got a thumbs up from everyone at the table, which is unusual at our house. I did not alter the recipe measurements, but I did use mayo rather than salad dressing. I also put the chopped celery and peppers to the side so that they could add them at the table. I offered dill weed and smoked paprika at the table to top it off as well. There was a lot of extra dressing but by tomorrow I am sure it will have been absorbed by the noodles. It was quite sweet but the dill pickle relish provided a nice contrast to the sweetness. This will become one of our go to macaroni salad recipes. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Delicious and easy. I usually just buy macaroni salad from the deli and go from there, but this time I used whole grain macaroni and made the dressing from scratch. Like others I cut down on the sugar but used sweet pickle relish instead for more sweetness. I used a 16 oz box of elbow macaroni but next time I will try bow ties. I cut the amount of dressing in half, and used mayonnaise, seasoned salt and celery seed but no celery. I also like macaroni salad with small cubes of white cheddar (1/4 pound) and 1 cup of defrosted frozen petite peas. It's only been chilling for a while but it tastes great. This recipe is very flexible and accomodates what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was really good! I forgot to add onion, and still turned out very tasty! I would probably add a little less sugar next time, but other than that I will be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States