Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Took this salad to a potluck at work. It was gone in just a few minutes and everyone requested the recipe. I used 1/3 of the sugar called for but made no other changes. I will making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have never been a macaroni salad fan...UNTIL I MADE THIS! NOTE: definitely cut the sugar to 1/4 cup though. This is requested when I bring a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I agree with HALPAC. The amount of sugar called for is WAY too much. The amount of macaroni is not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I have made this recipe a half of a dozen times. My daughter likes it, saying a lot, and my co-workers love it. I stopped adding mustard because of a co-worker, reduced the sugar and use half mayo and half Miracle Whip. It may not sound like your recipe but it is still the best. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Conner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Ive made this exactly as written and it was really good. I also made it with some subtle changes. I omitted the celery because my family doesn't care for it. I used apple cider vinegar in place of white vinegar. I also used less sugar, about 1/2c vs 3/4c, and I subbed Hellman's mayo for the dressing and horseradish mustard for the yellow mustard. Absolutely the best macaroni salad Ive ever had. 5 stars for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Honestly, this was the BEST macaroni salad I have ever eaten! It was literally gone a day after I made it, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I'VE MADE THIS SEVERAL TIMES ONLY THING I DO DIFFERENT IS I USE HELLMANS MAYO INSTEAD OF MIRICLE WHIP IT TENDS TO BE A BIT TO SWEET FOR MY TASTE MY FAMILY LOVES IT I HAVE TO MAKE IT SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE SUMMER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingleside, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have never written a review before but this is just the best pasta salad ever!!! and, I am not a fan of pasta salads. I enjoyed this at a friend's recently and had to try it. Luckily I read the reviews and made adjustments per the reviews. For sure, add another egg and decrease the amount of sugar, for me 1/4 cup was way enough. I also added cayenne pepper because , well, I love cayenne. The most important thing is, as noted in the reviews, only add "mayo" or Miracle Whip sparingly at first, you can always add more later, like the next day.Another tip, I learned about many years ago from my ex mother in law, Dill pickle juice!!!!!! She taught me this secret to use in potato salad and I have used it ever since.The key to this recipe seems to be to add condiments to the consistency that you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Delicious! Everyone loved it. Made as instructed except added 2 extra eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and each time everyone wants the recipe. I made a slight change to it. Use Hellmann's Light Mayonnaise instead of Miracle Whip and sweet relish instead of dill relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 796) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States