Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Great recipe! As suggested I lowered sugar to 1/4 C, and used the apple cider vinegar as personal preference also used part of the salt content as garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llamalutz
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
This is my go-to macaroni salad recipe. With just a few adjustments, I think it comes out perfectly. I use a whole pound of elbow macaroni, and cook it as the submitter suggests (bring water to boil. add macaroni. stir. remove from heat. cover and let sit for 10 minutes. then drain, rinse with cold water, and put aside). I bought a 15oz jar of whipped dressing, then just added a tbsp of mayo. I also cut the sugar to 1/2 cup, and increased the salt to about 1/2 tsp. It's still a bit sweet, but balanced a little more with the extra salt. I also added an extra egg, just because. I think it tastes similar to our local grocery store's Amish macaroni salad (which I love), and the no-cook dressing makes this recipe nice and simple. Especially good if made ahead, and refrigerated overnight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
I will make this again, minus the sugar. I think the miracle whip is sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis Lambert
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
it's the best I've ever had, next time I will use less sugar and a little less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Lambert
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Love it! Have made it 3 times. I also add pepper and cubed cheddar. Large recipe, so I usually half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Ouellette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I made this for the monthly pot luck at my mother's senior living apartment complex in November. They have requested it every month since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I have made this SEVERAL times. It is just the absolute best Macaroni Salad going. I get requests for it all the time. First time I made it I used regular onion. The only change I made after that was I used thinly sliced Green onions for the onion. I was out of regular onions and my husband really wanted the salad. I had to guess the portions but the flavor is awesome. Make sure you use Dill Relish. Sweet Pickle relish makes it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corunna, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Followed recipe to detail. Wow, my guests loved it. I predicted it was to much sauce and it would be way to sweet. Loved everything about it, it is sweet and wet, but so good. Doubled the recipe and still kept few leftovers. Peppers are a surprise and will add twice as much next time. 7 minutes on the pasta, leave it firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
We added a can of tuna in oil and adjusted the mayonnaise to 1 and 1/2 cups! Oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I finally tried this recipe!! I spent a LOT of time going through reviews and took extra care in preparing the dressing. I taste tested every step I went through. I opted for a combo of mayo/miracle whip. When I finally decided to add the sugar. I ended up only adding a teaspoon! I can't give this recipe 5 stars because I altered it as it was. I did absolutely love what I came up with and will make it many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States