Amish Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hellooutthere
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These are more like Onion Ring Patties then hash browns. If you like onion rings, you will love these! They may not be the best choice for breakfast though. Turn your heat to medium rather than medium high, or you will burn them to a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I added lots of black pepper. Very good will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This Recipe was quite tasty...I used onion powder instead of fresh onion and I also had fried up bacon to go along with the Hash Browns and used some of the bacon grease with some oil...would make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Panya V
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I used red potatoes and left the skins on. I used dried minced onions instead of fresh. I omitted the baking powder, and added garlic powder. Overall, these weren't any different from regular latkes that I make every Hanukkah. They tasted great, and my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I halved the recipe and followed it exactly, except I used onion powder instead of the onion. I got 5 big, yummy patties out of the batter. Tastewise, these were fantastic! However, they have a tendency to burn, and you really have to watch them; I had two of my patties char a little bit. Overall, these really are great hash browns, and they are quick too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
We wanted a new potato recipe for our Christmas Day Brunch that didn't include cheese. We live close to the Amish in Ohio and know that there cooking is excellent so I tried this recipe. We called them potato pancakes as that is what thy looked like. They were AWESOME! Everyone loved them. I made them at home and kept them warm in the oven before we traveled. Then, kept them warm in my relatives oven before serving. The only difference is they lose their crispiness by being in the oven which is fine for some. I like them crunchy right out of the pan! Also, I was in a hurry and forgot to add the onions. Nobody seemed to miss them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Followed to recipe to the letter.. WAAAYYYY to greasey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moozie the Turtle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I also used red potoatoes, like another reviewer and left the skins on. I put them through my food processer to shred them, along with the onion. I did cut the recipe in half, and added 1/2 tsp. dried dill weed, and 1/2 tsp. of dried parsley flakes, and also a ran a couple of cloves of garlic through the processor with the potatoes and onions. I used peanut oil to fry them in, instead of regular veg. oil. My husband really liked them, and I thought they were very good also, although they do tend to be on the greasy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States