Amish Friendship Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I made some modifications, mainly to attempt to cut back on some of the fat content. I used half applesauce and half vegetable oil, and I used Splenda baking mix instead of pure sugar (the starter itself has enough sugar in it.) I also used half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour. I added 3 T of cocoa powder to the dry ingredients, and folded in chocolate chips at the end. The batter was very thick and at first I thought I did something wrong. But the end product tasted great. I made muffins, which I baked for 20 minutes, and a loaf, which took at least an hour. I may try a different pan next time, as it was hard to get the center of the loaf to cook. I took the bread over to a friend's house for a gathering this weekend, and the bread was gone within the hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This was okay. The texture was good but I added a cup of chocolate chips. Without it, the flavor wasn't chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
These were WONDERFUL! I used someone else's advice and added a bag of milk chocolate chips to it, and made muffins out of them. FABULOUS! Just, be sure to not leave them sit out, or else they get a bit hard on the top. I left one batch out, and they are a little hard, while I put the second batch in an air tight container right away, and they are still extrememly moist a day later. Has anyone tried them with a cream cheese frosting? If so, let me know how they were, and what you used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina.Jolly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cold Spring, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I received a starter dough for "Hemin" Bread, which is exactly like Amish Friendship Bread starter dough. My Qualitycook friend Mandy had made it last year and she wasn't impressed with the taste. With that, I decided to look for something to doctor it up. I was a little confused about the pudding amount, so I used two 1.4 ounce packages which made it nice and chocolatey. I also threw in a goodly amount of chocolate chips and topped it with powdered sugar. Oh and I only used one loaf pan and it was perfectly done in 50 minutes. For those who've never tried this before, this is more like cake than bread. Anyway Kathy, it's delicious and I was very happy with the results. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was really good, everyone loved it. To lower the fat a little, I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. Plus I used 1% milk because thats all I have in the house. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
My hubby LOVES this one. I put some chocolate chips in and a banana also. The banana gets RAVE reviews! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SistaMaggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I baked and I baked and I baked this bread, it wouldn't get done in the middle. By the time it was done the outside was so hard. We were able to salvage the bread and eat the middle out of each slice, it is very good. I used devils food chocolate pudding and added some chocolate chips...yummy! I just wish we could eat the whole piece and not just the middle. anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I make A LOT of Amish Friendship Bread around the holidays, so I was excited to try this variation. After reading others reviews, I made these modifications. First of all I don't use Amish Friendship Starter...I am way too lazy for that. Instead I just use 1/3 C. of milk, 1/3 C of flour and a 1/3 C. sugar mixed well. That is my substitute for the starter mix. I also added 1 T. of cocoa, 1 C. semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1 bag of dried cherries (approx. 1 1/4 C.) and I used almond extract instead of vanilla extract. The bread turned out great, we call it Cherry Chocolate Bread. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Yummy, but I was a little disappointed that it wasn't as chocolatey as I had imagined it might be. I'll have to try the variations that other reviewers had mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This was a *super* yummy bread. . . It's a huge hit with all of my friends, since it's so moist and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States