Amish Friendship Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
My family loved this! My husband doesn't usually eat bread like this. He ate half the loaf before going to bed. I added half a bag of milk chocolate chips and baked for 5 extra minutes. I am waiting for my starter dough to be ready for another round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I made this recipe and was utterly unimpressed. In fact, I was disappointed...it was dry, didn't taste like much of anything, and it got dark before the suggested time. I had high hopes for it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very good!! I always add a teaspoon of cinnamon into the flour mix, as well as one cup of frozen chocolate chips just before baking for an extra punch of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This recipe turned out great. I did four mini loaves, which took about 50 minutes (do not fill your container more than half full! this stuff puffs right up). My pudding package sizes were a bit different; I used 3.9 oz of Instant Chocolate and 1.34 oz of Instant Sugar-Free Vanilla, since that's the closest I could get with what I had! Then added 2 T. of cocoa powder, after reading all the reviewers wishing for more chocolate flavor. The only other thing I did different was coat the pan with cinnamon/sugar, kuz I love cinnamon flavored chocolate. The taste was awesome, wonderful texture; will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is really good. I only gave it 4 stars because I modified it. First,I mixed 1/3 cup cocoa powder and 1 tsp cinnamon with the dry ingredients. Next, I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of a whole cup of oil. Last, I folded in a 12 ounce bag of semi sweet chocolate chips. I made one loaf and 12 muffins. The muffins baked for 20 mins and the loaf baked for 60 mins. They both came out perfect! I can't wait to try other variations on the Amish Friendship starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
My favourite kind of Amish bread! People thought it was cake but it tastes good so it didn't matter. I added some golden raisins to the bread. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I added chocolate chips one time, and Andes Crème de Menthe Baking Chips the next - excellent! A recipe you can keep experimenting with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was my 1st experience w/ the Friendship Bread starter and this is a great recipe. Not quite chocolaty enough for me so will add cocoa next time. I did add craisins & chocolate chips and they were nicely distributed through out instead of sinking to the bottom. Overall 4.5 ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFLYNNS

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I baked my cake in a bundt pan at 350 degrees for 1 hr and 15 minutes. The only variation I made was to put a can of pecan coconut frosting in the bottom of the pan before I added the batter. This is absolutely delicious!! Just like a German Chocolate Cake. The frosting coated the whole top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this recipe as was written and was disappointed. I thought the flavor was lackluster for what had the texture of a chocolate cake. Next time, I'll just make chocolate cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States