Amish Friendship Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
These make wonderful muffins, bake for only 30 minutes, though. Add mini chocolate bits for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I made this as muffins with chocolate chips, and they were fantastic! One bag of chocolate chips, an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder, subsituted applesauce for oil, and baked for about 25 minutes. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
This is a delicious, moist cakelike bread. I think it would be good sliced and topped with cherry pie filling and a dollop of whipped cream to make it a company dessert! Or a white chocolate sauce and a fresh strawberry on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I and my husband like this bread. Very moist and tasty. I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applysauce and it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
Tried adding 1/2 cup dried cherries and 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips --- Extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This is yummy, yummy, yummy! I also use pistachio pudding in place of chocolate and almond extract in place of the vanilla. This is fun and easy. I make my bread into four mini loves and give this as a gift with a copy of the recipe, starter and one of the mini loaves in a pretty hand stamped bag. My friends have all loved it! I am going to give one to each of my boy’s teachers as teacher gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This was wonderful. I was going to freeze one loaf but family ate it before I had a chance. I used almond extract, chocolate chips and candied cherrys. Tasted like chocolate covered cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Nokken Heup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I love this recipe. It reminds of brownies; but better. The next time I make this I'm going to add pecans. My kids love it. thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This was a *super* yummy bread. . . It's a huge hit with all of my friends, since it's so moist and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I make A LOT of Amish Friendship Bread around the holidays, so I was excited to try this variation. After reading others reviews, I made these modifications. First of all I don't use Amish Friendship Starter...I am way too lazy for that. Instead I just use 1/3 C. of milk, 1/3 C of flour and a 1/3 C. sugar mixed well. That is my substitute for the starter mix. I also added 1 T. of cocoa, 1 C. semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1 bag of dried cherries (approx. 1 1/4 C.) and I used almond extract instead of vanilla extract. The bread turned out great, we call it Cherry Chocolate Bread. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States