Amish Friendship Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I had a very weird experience with this chocolate bread, and I am wondering if this has happened to anyone else. When done, I cut a slice of the bread and the top 1/3 was chocolate colored (like a brownie) and the bottom 2/3 was GREEN. It was the exact tone of green as a Florist's styrofoam block that they stick flowers into. Needless to say, it was not appealing. Also, the texture of the top was cakelike, but the bottom was overly moist (almost mushy). Maybe I didn't bake it long enough. I am thinking that it was from the coloring in the Chocolate Pudding I used. I threw it away as it was too scary looking to eat. I did try a taste and it seemed okay. Curious to see if this has happened to anyone else?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I made this as muffins with chocolate chips, and they were fantastic! One bag of chocolate chips, an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder, subsituted applesauce for oil, and baked for about 25 minutes. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I make A LOT of Amish Friendship Bread around the holidays, so I was excited to try this variation. After reading others reviews, I made these modifications. First of all I don't use Amish Friendship Starter...I am way too lazy for that. Instead I just use 1/3 C. of milk, 1/3 C of flour and a 1/3 C. sugar mixed well. That is my substitute for the starter mix. I also added 1 T. of cocoa, 1 C. semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1 bag of dried cherries (approx. 1 1/4 C.) and I used almond extract instead of vanilla extract. The bread turned out great, we call it Cherry Chocolate Bread. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I baked and I baked and I baked this bread, it wouldn't get done in the middle. By the time it was done the outside was so hard. We were able to salvage the bread and eat the middle out of each slice, it is very good. I used devils food chocolate pudding and added some chocolate chips...yummy! I just wish we could eat the whole piece and not just the middle. anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I received a starter dough for "Hemin" Bread, which is exactly like Amish Friendship Bread starter dough. My Qualitycook friend Mandy had made it last year and she wasn't impressed with the taste. With that, I decided to look for something to doctor it up. I was a little confused about the pudding amount, so I used two 1.4 ounce packages which made it nice and chocolatey. I also threw in a goodly amount of chocolate chips and topped it with powdered sugar. Oh and I only used one loaf pan and it was perfectly done in 50 minutes. For those who've never tried this before, this is more like cake than bread. Anyway Kathy, it's delicious and I was very happy with the results. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
Tried adding 1/2 cup dried cherries and 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips --- Extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I am a chocolate fanatic but was not overly thrilled with this recipe.It's not bad at all but not as chocolatey as I envisioned.Might try again and add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I and my husband like this bread. Very moist and tasty. I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applysauce and it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
These make wonderful muffins, bake for only 30 minutes, though. Add mini chocolate bits for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
This is a delicious, moist cakelike bread. I think it would be good sliced and topped with cherry pie filling and a dollop of whipped cream to make it a company dessert! Or a white chocolate sauce and a fresh strawberry on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States