Amish Friendship Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I baked my cake in a bundt pan at 350 degrees for 1 hr and 15 minutes. The only variation I made was to put a can of pecan coconut frosting in the bottom of the pan before I added the batter. This is absolutely delicious!! Just like a German Chocolate Cake. The frosting coated the whole top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this recipe as was written and was disappointed. I thought the flavor was lackluster for what had the texture of a chocolate cake. Next time, I'll just make chocolate cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ricord Griesemer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Yummy! It is a nice, new recipe to use with my Friendship Bread starter. I've passed this along to my friends who are tired of the same bread receipe for the starter. I didn't have the Chocolate Instant pudding on hand so I substituted a small box of White Chocolate Instant pudding, a box of Vanilla Instant pudding and a T. of cocoa powder and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Update: just checked breads and they were not done in center...but toothpick came out clean!!! Must have been the high fat content..should bake them 40 minutes at 325 probably. I made this with the following changes: I only used 1/2 teaspoon salt since regular recipe only calls for a 1/2, I always only use 3/4 cup sugar (less sugar lets you taste the chocolate), added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa to dry mixture, used 1/2 cup cream instead of milk and heated cream 30 seconds and then disolved 1 teaspoon instant dry decaf in it, (milk or half & half would have worked too) and added 1 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips. Baked in two loaf pans at 325 for about 35 minutes, came out tasting and looking like a cakey brownie and the center fell-but tasted very chocolatey. Still, might not go through this trouble again to make a brownie. The regular cinnamon (or you can make it maple flavored by omitting the vanilla and adding maple flavoring) amish bread can't be beat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I had a very weird experience with this chocolate bread, and I am wondering if this has happened to anyone else. When done, I cut a slice of the bread and the top 1/3 was chocolate colored (like a brownie) and the bottom 2/3 was GREEN. It was the exact tone of green as a Florist's styrofoam block that they stick flowers into. Needless to say, it was not appealing. Also, the texture of the top was cakelike, but the bottom was overly moist (almost mushy). Maybe I didn't bake it long enough. I am thinking that it was from the coloring in the Chocolate Pudding I used. I threw it away as it was too scary looking to eat. I did try a taste and it seemed okay. Curious to see if this has happened to anyone else?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
We loved this. I did not want to make 4 new starters b/c I am tired of Friendship Breads,so I just scooped out 3/4 cup of starter and added 1/3 c of flour, sugar, and milk. That made about a cup of starter that was ready to add to this recipe. It is not overly chocolatey. But really good, nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
this recipe is dry try this add 2 small boxes chocolate pudding, 1 cup milk, one cup applesauce. 1/2 cup chocolate chips sprinkles on top of each loaf awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This bread was to much like a thick brownie. I did not like it. It might be good made into a cupcake with chocolate chips in it. The taste was okay. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is an awesome way to alter an already yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Excellent! I also added some cocoa and subsituted 1/2 the oil with applesauce. Also added 1/2 bag of mini chocolate chips. Turns out great making muffins or bread! Disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States