Amish Friendship Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Love this recipe! It's a cross between chocolate cake, brownies, and sour dough bread. I added a handful of chocolate chips (milk chocolate morsels) to mine like I do for my brownies. I also made 3 large loaves with it...two are just too big. I made a second batch and made 5 mini loaves...which really could have made 6-7 but I used the extra to top off the 3 large loaves. I had all 8 loaves in the oven at the same time on top of a air bake cookie sheet. I cooked it for about 47-48 minutes. It all came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
After reading the reviews, I chose to add dried cherries and semi-sweet chocolate chips. It was better than okay but not the best bread I've ever made. We must have liked it, though because it's all gone! Still, I prefer making quick breads. To me they are better and I don't have to "adopt a pet" by taking care of the starter every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this substituting 1 tsp of Raspberry Extract. Also found sugar for the rim of a martini glass and used that to "flour" to pan. It was called Chocolate Candy. It gave it the traditional sugared coating we love on Amish Bread. I added a third egg, like most of the other recipes call for, too. Quite good and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My husband just loves the chocolate flavor. We have tried many different variations and I occasionally make the bread as a bundt. It makes a tasty cake and I like to pour ganache over it and serve it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This bread turned out really well. It worked great even at my very high altitude. I didn't have to adjust it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
As I sit here licking the crumbs from my plate, I reflect on the confusion I experienced with this recipe. But first, let me say it IS delicious. The recipe called for "1 (5.9 oz.) pkg instant chocolate pudding mix". The largest I could find was Jello's 2.1 oz. size. So, I assumed it was a typo. Also, it called for TWO 9x5 loaf pans, but it could have easily fit into ONE as they raised only to about 2 to 2 1/2" high. I used the one box of 2.1 oz. Jello pudding, substituted the sugar for a slightly less amount of Altern (Splenda), used olive oil instead of regular vegetable oil and a bit less than the 1 cup, and used a litthle less salt. It was really moist and tasty. My huband loved it! Next time I'll get adventurous and add chocolate chips. Thank you, KATHY422, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was absolutely perfect! I added chocolate chunks and it was so moist and rich that everyone who tasted it asked for a bag of friendship bread and the recipe. I will definately make this again. To the person who got green bread. I think your chocolate pudding was old and it probably didn't cook long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
If you love brownies, this is for you! I also added macadamia nuts and sprinkled coconut on top before baking. It is the best......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for! And to those who said it turned out dry--you cannot eliminate the oil in a sourdough recipe or it will be extremely dry. You can replace it with applesauce, though. I've tried cutting back the oil and it was terrible. I used almost all applesauce with only about a tablespoon or 2 of oil. I also had only one small box of chocolate pudding, so I added about 1/2 cup of cocoa. I did not increase the sugar since I used sweetened applesauce in place of the oil. I also added about a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I made it into 22 muffins and followed another reviewer's guidelines and baked 20 minutes at 350. They turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
My co-worker made this and I made the lemon-poppy seed version (very good) to bring to work last week. The chocolate bread was okay but very bland; not chocolately tasting at all, so I'm not sure why so many reviewers claim it's like chocolate cake or even fudge brownies! (Makes me wonder if they've ever had *real* chocolate cake before! LOL) Meanwhile, I think the recipe can be salvaged by using chocolate *fudge* pudding and/or adding cocoa to the mix. It could also really benefit from chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, Andes mint chips (loved that suggestion, folks!), and/or nuts. Or another suggestion is to make the bread as is but serve it with a spread made with peanut butter or Nutella, cream cheese and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States