Amish Friendship Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My children LOVED this bread..as did their dad. This recipe is a keeper and we look forward to making these again with some cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Juice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Dory, did you use a metal pan? because of the active yeast, you dont want to use metal. maybe thats why it was green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
There is a 5.85 ounce package of instant chocolate pudding. People might not think its chocolatey enough because they're only using 3.9 ounces of pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I felt it was better when choco chips were added... As for the GREEN you saw... I don't know if this is the same thing... but this happened to me with cupcakes once. Turned out my roommate had made blueberry muffins the weekend before and decided not to wash the pan. Not sure why I didn't notice this ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs BG
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I followed some other reviewers' comments and made these into muffins. I added 1 Tbsp of unsweetened cocoa, stirred in mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and also sprinkled some on top before baking. Instead of 1 cup oil, I used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil. (I used cinnamon applesauce as it was what I had on hand and it tasted just fine!) They turned out very moist and chocolaty! Oh..and I used 3.9 oz package of instant pudding mix. I could not find a 5.9 oz and thought maybe it's a typo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs BG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Yum!!! This was very tasty. I used half white whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour and tossed in about a tblsp of flaxseed meal. I did not have chocolate pudding, only vanilla so I added in 1/3 cup of cocoa. I also only had 3/4 of a bag of chocolate chips so I put that in as well. I made one loaf and 12 muffins...the muffins I baked for about 20 min. and they came out perfectly! I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. My husband loved it. No problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I have made this several times now. I don't think that it is quite chocolatey enough. This last time I added 2 T. of cocoa, a cup of chocolate chips, and 3/4 cup of coconut, and used 1/2 oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. I then sprayed my pan with cooking spray and sprinkled more coconut on the bottom of the pan. This prevented it from sticking. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Utah, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Yeah so the bottom half of my 2 loaves turned a greenish color too. I checked the ingredients of the pudding box and it contains red, blue, and yellow dyes. With the heat of baking, the dyes must have settled to the bottom and made green. I tasted it and my roommates and I love it! regardless of color. nothing is wrong with the bread, it is just food coloring. I also added 2 mushed bananas to one of the loaves and it came out even better tasting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catdansk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Love this recipe! It's a cross between chocolate cake, brownies, and sour dough bread. I added a handful of chocolate chips (milk chocolate morsels) to mine like I do for my brownies. I also made 3 large loaves with it...two are just too big. I made a second batch and made 5 mini loaves...which really could have made 6-7 but I used the extra to top off the 3 large loaves. I had all 8 loaves in the oven at the same time on top of a air bake cookie sheet. I cooked it for about 47-48 minutes. It all came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States