Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Love this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
i make this bread a lot.i ran out of people to give it to .so i froze three starters in bags.left one out for myself.i skip everything go srtaight to main batter at day ten,do mush the bag and let the air out.i also use my hand mixer and metal pan ,i use only applesauce no oil.i even made the bread after two days in beeing in the bag and it came out the same.the amish didnt have metal or electric mixers this was in the olden days thats why it says not to use metal or your mixer.my bread allways turns out fine and when i come to my last one out of the freezer.i do the whole process ,and then i freeze my three bags again.i even make bigger loaves and cup cakes ,i add what my kiddos like .i also freeze the bread in parchment paper and foil.it allways tastes fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My sister-in-law was leaving on a trip the day before making the bread so gave me the starter. I knew I wouldn't have time for another 5 days so I fed it. Her's was in a zippy bag so it was easy to keep. I was at a loss and left the bag open, didn't want an accidental explosion. By the time I was ready, the mixture was VERY sour-smelling but figured I'd try anyway. Also had to use Butterscotch pudding mix. I wasn't sure how much starter to use so I guessed at 1 1/2 cups. Well... it WORKED!!! Very tasty, not sour, not too sweet. I'm quite amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Awesome starting point. I made this in baggies instead (& good thing I did. We took an emergency 18 hr trip on day 6-10. Not possible with a casserole dish.) and "mushed" them every day. I did try this with Splenda (straight splenda, not a baking mix) & used the bread 1 recipe on this site. The splenda bag would balloon up within minutes, but not have any more air until the next day you add ingrediants. It also smelled a lot more sour than the suger mix. This was controlled (same flour, milk, & yeast in both) so I would expect the same disappointing results every time. May work with Splenda + sugar baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stormyyskyy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Worked just like the starter I'd received from friends previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I had received the info on how to make this bread but it did not include the starter; which I received here. Thank you for posting it. Now I can make it and pass it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I have tried making this starter twice now, both times it turned out well. I just don't see the point of investing my time to make a 10 day starter for a soda bread. It doesn't add enough to the flavor, I baked some Amish breads leaving the starter out. May-be I'm doing something wrong as this has 5 stars overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I was very glad to find this recipe as I had lost ( it had gone bad),my started. I made bread for everyone on my Christmas list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Can I use spenda in place of sugar for the starter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I just made a friendship cake and I now have friendship waffles cooking. I used my kitchenaid mixer with a metal bowl and it did not affect my batter at all. My waffles are looking awesome also in a metal cooking surface. I think the metal worries are unfounded. Will not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States