Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My family love the Friendship Bread. I froze the extra starter to use at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I used Wheat Flour and Honey instead of Syrup and it taste amazing. The Wheat does get alot of air in it though... Taste great and it alot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vergial Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I love this and lost my starter but then i found this one and love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I have received starters in the past and the bread is amazing. I have tried twice now to create my own starter and it is not fermenting and bubbling like all the others I have done. I have always received them in a gallon size ziplock bag and told to keep it sealed and let the gas out each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made the Friendship Bread Starter as written, except for regular milk, I used acidophilus milk and another using Lactaid they both turned out perfect. A good tip to remember when dissolving active dry yeast, never stir the yeast with a spoon, let it dissolve on it's own without stirring or it will effect the outcome of yeast to liquid ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My Mom made this bread all the time when I was little, but her starter died. I found this recipe online and she made a new batch of starter, and we got to try the first batch of muffins from this recipe saturday and they were exactly what I remembered! Loaves are good, we like to make little muffins out of them. If you can find a cornbread pan, that makes them even better. The thickness and size works great for the recipe. I also like to put cinnamon chips in mine. Chocolate chips are good too. Very easy to experiment and try new things with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this and followed the recipe exactly and did everything I was suppose to for the ten days and it turned out great! I made Pancakes with this starter and there were really good I haven't had Sourdough Pancakes before and I was really impressed. I will definitely make this Starter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
i love this recipe, and know you can freeze the starter. my question is, can you just go ahead and bake using the starter as soon as it's thawed or do you have to go through the whole 10 day process again, and the day that it's thawed is day 1?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Growing up this was a special treat, that we could not have often; I recently tried one and it was not at all what I remember - so I did some research and found that today's breads are, as most things "quickened".. I do not prefer this kind- the authentic recipes are much bette. Another interesting thing I found out is that this bread is not Amish! Lol it can not be traced to them at all, isn't that funny?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very good. More a cake than a bread, think banana bread texture. Nice light cinnamon flavor. I chopped a large granny smith apple into the batter before baking. With all the sugar in the recipe it cut the sweetness. I now have 3 cups of starter to freeze and one to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States