Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Metal containers are fine. I use my electric mixer and bake about 10-12 loaves at a time. My family loves this bread and its so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eharllee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great option if you have no one to give the starters to: usually you make 4 1c. starters which leaves you with 1c. in the bowl to make bread. Instead, take out only 1c. to make a starter for yourself to continue, which leaves 4 cups in the bowl. Separate 2c. into another mixing bowl, and make 2 separate DOUBLE batches of bread (double whatever Amish bread recipe you are using for EACH bowl). You can bake a ton of loaves at once and freeze them to use or give away later. This is a great option when baking these to give as Christmas gifts! In answer to some previous questions, sometimes the starter seems to die down days 6-9 -this is normal and the bread will bake fine Day 10. The next started will pick up again bubbling after Day 2...if it doesn't you can always allow more air (leave bag open if you are using a ziplock to let it start fermenting again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I am not a baker -- don't even cook -- But I thoroughly enjoy doing this!! I am starting to experiment with variations and there are o so many!!! Highly recommend trying this!! Gives you something to look forward to and tastes amazing to boot ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I actually asked my Amish neighbors about this & other bread startes, They said they never heard of such a thing. Crazy... I use this often! :) Thanks for posting it Ginny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I know this may sound dumb but I cant remember what my mum use to do with the starter. Do you leave it out on the counter for 10 days or do you keep it in the fridge then stir and add as directed. Thanks for the help :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I'm very happy with this starter! The recipe was easy and I haven't killed it yet! I'm also able to freeze it, take it out of the freezer, and it springs back to life within a few hours! It had the soury taste even in my first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I love making this bread and giving it as gifts. The only problem is, I worked and baking during the week was a problem for me; also, no one wants the excess starter. I have solved these problems. I set my routine up on an 8-day cycle rather than a 10 day cycle and cut the feeding volumes down to 1/4 cup. DAY 1: Receive ¼ cup of starter (best if done on saturday or sunday, if you work weekdays) Store starter in a plastic sandwich baggie or quart size baggie. DAYS 1-3 (Sat-Sun-Mon): squeeze the bag several times (release air, if needed) DAY 4 (Tue): add ¼ cup each of flour, sugar, milk, squeeze bag to mix ingredients DAYS 5-7 (W-Th-F): squeeze the bag several times (release air, if needed) DAY 8 (Sat): baking day: pour batter into a large NON-METAL BOWL and add: ¼ cup each of: flour, sugar, milk; mix with a RUBBER SPATULA OR WOODEN SPOON. Pour ¼ cup of batter back into a new plastic bag to keep as your starter. Bake your bread as directed in recipe. This routine allows you to always do the bread baking on the weekend and the reduced amounts of feeding guarantees No excess starter to worry about forcing on friends! Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Thank-you so much for making this recipe available. I have searched it seems like forever to find it. I lost mine when we moved and truely miss making this wonderful bread. Again THANK-YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My family love the Friendship Bread. I froze the extra starter to use at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I used Wheat Flour and Honey instead of Syrup and it taste amazing. The Wheat does get alot of air in it though... Taste great and it alot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vergial Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States