Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicajean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My husband makes starter bread every 10 days and gives it away. We have no one to give the starters to so he doubles the recipe and it turns out just fine. He varies the flavoring from week to week so that his gifts don't get boring by adding pumpkin pie spice, apple pie spice, cake spice, ect. He always adds 1/2 the cinnamon and then 1/2 the other flavor. Also, he always doubles the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It worked beautifully with the Amish Friendship Bread I recipe. I caught wild yeast though instead of using store bought yeast. See the Sourdough no commercial yeast recipe for how to start the sourdough and then start adding the milk, sugar and flour after the sourdough starter is done with its first cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This recipe is THE BEST. #1 for how easy it is, and #2 for how versatile it is. I hadn't made it in years and hubby came home from work about 10 days ago (LOL) with a starter from a co-worker. I'm now at home full time but have 3 son-in-laws all in the military. So I've decided to use up all of my batter except the re-starter 1-cup and bake breads & muffins to send over to the troops!! (providing that the boys share LOL) So if anyone else wants to bake for the troops and don't know a good recipient, I have several addresses to share. Happy baking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
the review left by baked is exactly how i remember this bread to be made. lost the recipe years ago. thank goodness it is available :) thumbs up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Super Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
So happy that I found this! A friend of mine years ago gave me a started and the kids loved it. I lost the recipe, the kids will be so excited that I found it again. There are so many ways that you can vary the recipe to make breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
love it and it does freeze well! my little girl loves the bread and loves to help make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Metal containers are fine. I use my electric mixer and bake about 10-12 loaves at a time. My family loves this bread and its so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eharllee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great option if you have no one to give the starters to: usually you make 4 1c. starters which leaves you with 1c. in the bowl to make bread. Instead, take out only 1c. to make a starter for yourself to continue, which leaves 4 cups in the bowl. Separate 2c. into another mixing bowl, and make 2 separate DOUBLE batches of bread (double whatever Amish bread recipe you are using for EACH bowl). You can bake a ton of loaves at once and freeze them to use or give away later. This is a great option when baking these to give as Christmas gifts! In answer to some previous questions, sometimes the starter seems to die down days 6-9 -this is normal and the bread will bake fine Day 10. The next started will pick up again bubbling after Day 2...if it doesn't you can always allow more air (leave bag open if you are using a ziplock to let it start fermenting again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States