Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
There's a pancake recipe that needs this! It's SOO Y U M M Y!! :o ;))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serene Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I am so thankful to find this recipe. I have been making this for a while (following my own recipe) and haven't made it in the past couple years. :( I lost my recipe and was saddened. This bread is amazing!!! I also keep mine in a gallon size zip-lock bag, and "burp" the bag when the air accumulates. This is by far the greatest gift you could ever give someone, and tastes amazing to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
2 loaves in the oven now! Agree with Mom 81549 on 6/27/12- you end up with much more batter than you are led to believe- I ended up with 7 cups! Another review has the same bread recipe I have (cinnamon) that says take out the 4 cups and "add" rest of ingredients to the remaining- but hers was too thin( that's because she was left with 3 cups of batter) I just use the 1 cup and all works well. And yes- you can double (in 2 separate bowls) & make 4 loaves at same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I just made my first loaves of this bread and it was gone in a flash. My future daughter-in-law sent it to me as a Christmas gift. I see that it can be frozen, my questions is does it matter when you freeze the starter? I was thinking of popping one in to freeze for later use on day one? Also you can add things to it like nuts, chocolate chips etc..before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket McGraw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I loved the recipe! Had no problem getting it done the first time. I have one 1 cup of the starter remaining which I froze. I want to keepon making starters but am not sure if I can used the frozen cup I have to keep on making starters instead of using it for baking. Please let me know, anybody. Thanks, yeyi1922
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
One of my fave starts. My family loves this bread. My son will pick up a whole loaf and take a bite out of it lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules1966

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this to use on Paula Deans Cinnamon Rolls and of course some amish friendship bread. Turned out great. Had fun doing the whole process for the first time also. Thanks from KY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have made this years ago, now I am making it again, I loved making it with Pistacheo nuts an pudding. It is well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I have made it to day number 10! So Iam ready to bake and get to sharing :) I haven't decided which variation I'm going to bake; but I'm leaning to cinnamon....YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is the perfect starter and very easy to accomplish. I was once given a starter from a friend but never made extra or kept it going. After making the bread, I wished I had because it's so good (especially with coffee). Finding this recipe was a big deal and it's 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States