Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I like to try to be health conscious and lower calorie. I used whole wheat flour, Splenda (generic brand), and fat free milk throughout. Also, when baking day came I used those things and rather than using the oil, I used applesauce and sugar free/fat free instant vanilla pudding. Someone may have already said this but I just though I would add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Hi DEB - The recipie is correct as it reads (and delicious). The ingredient list notes that flour and sugar are 3 cups divided. When you read the instructions you use 1 cup of each on day 1, day 5 and day 10. Note this recipie is just the starter - you then need to use your favorite Amish Bread Recipie on day 10. Hope this clarifies the question you were asking DEB. Ask again if this is confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
So then what part of this starter recipe do we go by? The listed ingredients that say 3cups each of flour/milk/sugar or the directions that states 1 cup flour/milk/sugar? Please let me know. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I didn't add the yeast, just the sugar, milk and flour and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I was looking online for the starter and finally i will stick to this one. My sister gave me a starter about 4 months ago and I made so much bread because I ran out of friends to give out starters too. So now i have no starter and my family is anxious to eat Amish bread again for months in a row lol.....This is the best starter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
very good starter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Picotte

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
in the recipe that I have it reads as follows...Day 2-5 Mash Bag...Day 6 add 1 c flour 1 c sugar 1 c milk and mash bag...Day 7-9 mash bag...Day 10 pour into glass bowl and add 1-1/2c flour 1 1/2c sugar 1 1/2c milk...separate 4-1cup portions into zip lock gallon bags....to remaining mixture in glass bowl add 3 eggs 1c oil (or 1/2c oil and 1/2c applesauce) 1/2c milk 1c sugar 2tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp vanilla 1 1/2tsp baking soda 1/2tsp salt 2c flour 1 large box instant pudding any flavor and (optional 1c raisins, coconut, chopped nuts, chocolate chips, etc....Grease 2 large loaf pans and add batter evenly into pans...bake in preheated 325 oven for 1 hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I love this bread but I cannot eat much as I have food allergies. Has anyone made the starter with spelt flour or rice flour and use soy milk? Are the measurements the same for the ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I use a ziploc bag for the 10 days and it is so easy!! Also I have frozen this starter with no problems and made more starter out of that batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This starter is amazing, and I love to use starters made the old fashioned way, but I have found an even easier way to achieve the results without having to have a starter at all, for those who posted about this. One day, I realized that I had allowed my culture to die and thought I'd have to throw it out, but then thought to substitute buttermilk for the milk in the recipe. I make my own buttermilk, but I'm sure any with live cultures would work. I kept the rest of the recipe the same and the bread is very close to the original. So, for this method, mix 3/4 cup each of flour, sugar, and milk, and then continue with the recipe, substituting buttermilk for the milk in the remainder of the recipe. I do a double batch each time, so if you only want 2 loaves instead of 4, you need to make the base with about a 1/3 of a cup for each ingredient. I hope this helps those who don't like to keep starters on the counter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States