Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Live in the mountains. Is there a high altitude adjustment for the starter or recipes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
The bread itself is GREAT but Where are the rest of the ingredients that go into this bread on day 10? And this recipe is suppose to say NOT to use any metal when making this bread. NO metal utensils, no metal bowls, no wire whisks. The rest of the ingredients include things like eggs, oil, vanilla and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
All I know is that its a lot of work....for one loaf of bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
So glad I found the starter recipe! My family loves Amish Friendship bread! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee Niederriter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I first ran into this recipe 35 years ago when I was married to a man who HATED fruitcake. We had always had fruitcake for Christmas & New Year's so I knew my family would expect it. I made my basic fruitcake using this as a base, added a little cardamom to make it more like what he was used to from northern Europe and Voila! best Christmas cake ever! You can make it with anything... pumpkin, sweet potatoes, zucchini, actually any grated squash, carrots, parsnips, beets, potatoes (amp up the spices a little), apples, pears, firm peaches or plums, figs, raisins, dates, currants, gooseberries, aronia, goji, loganberries, honeyberries, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, cranberries or blueberries (fresh or dried), any dried fruit, any nuts (I prefer them unsalted), or mix them up however you like for your own unique fruitcake recipe. Yes, you may make it with soy, rice or almond or other nut milk, you just may need to adjust for consistency on day 10. Experiment! Use your imagination! Same with spices. Try mace instead of nutmeg (gentler); allspice in place of cloves. Cardamom has been my secret ingredient for years. Those who have never had those crispy, brown German Christmas cookies usually don't recognise the flavor. So, maybe a batch doesn't turn out so well. You'd be amazed what does. Yellow beets or carrots will have everyone wondering. Whenever I had starter left over, I just baked it & sent it to work with my husband, or gave it to my stepsons to share around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
used it many times was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is a nice enough sweet dessert-y bread. But I just finished my first batch and my suspicions are confirmed. It is unnecessary to go through the whole 10 day period of mixing and waiting, etc. If you think about what you are creating, you will understand. You start with a gift of what is essentially a yeast sourdough base. You then feed the yeast over the course of the 10 days and then make your bread. Here's my problem with the whole thing: once you have built up this fabulous baggie full of yeast and sourdough base, you add whatever flavor ingredients you want and throw it in the oven. The last step completely negates the fact that you have a yeasty mixture! You don't let the bread raise from the CO2 produced by the yeast! You add a bunch of ingredients and bake it...those ingredients include leaveners such as baking powder and baking soda. So although this bread is relatively tasty (especially when you add a handful of white chocolate and butterscotch chips!) waiting the 10 days is just unnecessary. I would be willing to bet if you took all of the ingredients and threw them together and put them in the oven, you would get the same result. (With the exception of whatever yeasty flavor the yeast mixture adds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My mother and I have been making Amish Friendship Bread for years. She and I have made several variations and haven't been disappointed by a single batch! This starter makes delicious bread, and is fun to make and share with friends. Instead of using a mixing bowl, I combine the ingredients in a gallon ziplock bag kneading the outside rather than mixing with a spoon. It works great and requires less clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love this . Sharing it with my daugther in law
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
super so glad i found y'all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States