Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
i live this stuff my mom made it wen i was visiting her in colorado and it wass amazing so i just had to gt the recipe for it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I freeze mine in 2 1/8c. pkgs, some always stays in the bag. I buy instant pudding mix at the bulk stores & then follow the basic recipe. Last one I made was Cranberry, with cranberry relish & Nantucket mix. I make double recipes, get about 8 3"x5" loaves. Give as gifts at the Holidays. I've never had anyone complain about any of them, you can go as far as you want with the basic recipe, adding whatever you want
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Starter worken perfect and my breads turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is my 1st time making my own starter: Part 2 of my question: Can you add the yeast on Day 2 since I have already combined the 1 cup flour, sugar, and milk or should I just start over from scratch with my starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I used this recipe at a friends house and made it like a cake instead of bread and put a lemon glaze on top. We also put pecans and raisins inside with honeyed ginger. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I just used this starter with the Amish Chocolate Bread found on this site. I only added 1 cup mini chocolate chips and otherwise followed that recipe. It is great. My starter worked out perfectly. I have seen several variations of the 10 day process, and they have all worked well. I'm glad to finally find a starter recipe I can begin on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Here are the instructions I pass along to friends who have trouble finding people to give starter to. This allows you to bake 4 loaves of bread each time, keep a starter for later, and either give away a starter or put one in the freezer. I give my neighbors loaves of baked bread and/or freeze the loaves, they are good thawed and eaten as well. (Also includes some tips on Amish bread baking) Amish Friendship Bread (Double) *Double allows you to have no bags of starter to give to friends, but freeze one bag each time. * Double also allows you to bake 4 loaves of bread, freezable after baking to pull from your freezer later. Do not use any type of metal spoons or bowls for the mixtures Do not refrigerate (during the 10 days) If air gets into the bag, let it out. It is normal for it to rise, bubble and ferment. Day 1 Do Nothing (This is the day the mixture was put in the bag) Day 2 Mush Bag Day 3 Mush Bag Day 4 Mush Bag Day 5 Mush Bag Day 6 Add to bag: 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup milk and mush bag. Day 7 Mush Bag Day 8 Mush Bag Day 9 Mush Bag Day 10 Follow directions below. 1) Pour batter into a large, non-metal bowl. 2) Add 1 ½ cup flour, 1 ½ cup sugar, 1 ½ cup milk and mix well with a wooden spoon. (this makes a total of 6 cups batter) 3) Get 2 gallon size ziplock baggies and label Day 1- (put today's date) Day 6- (put date in 5 days from today) Day 10- (put date 9 days from today) 4) Measure out 2 separate batters of 1 cup each into
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I have been making this bread, for a long time.. but recently I started making it in cupcake pans.. easier to store, freeze and eat.. I have added chocolate chips (3/4 cup, and 1 cup walnuts, or our FAVORITE is to add 3/4 of craisins and 1 cup chopped pecans.. everyone loves this.... I just froze a starter last week, because like everyone stated, once you start you can't quit unless you just throw it out...and what a waste that would be. We love the muffins and everyone I have shared it with have expressed the same. Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skthaxton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I look forward to this EVERY year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Glad to find this recipe again after 8 years! I used to make muffins for my daycare kids and they loved it for breakfast and snacks. I made several different batches at one baking time then froze for later use. Easy to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States