Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Growing up this was a special treat, that we could not have often; I recently tried one and it was not at all what I remember - so I did some research and found that today's breads are, as most things "quickened".. I do not prefer this kind- the authentic recipes are much bette. Another interesting thing I found out is that this bread is not Amish! Lol it can not be traced to them at all, isn't that funny?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very good. More a cake than a bread, think banana bread texture. Nice light cinnamon flavor. I chopped a large granny smith apple into the batter before baking. With all the sugar in the recipe it cut the sweetness. I now have 3 cups of starter to freeze and one to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I put the starter in a freezer bag. Makes it easy to stir, just squeeze the bag. Just remember to let the air out each day. It's also a good way to store it in the fridge or freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Not exactly sure how to rate this. I followed "Olga"'s recipe from the first page on how to make traditional starter---1c milk-1c flour and 1c sugar. Let it sit 5 days and repeated. On day 10 I made my bread and it came out FLAT and extremely sugary. It may have been me as a novice but I will follow a recipe with less sugar and with yeast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Love this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
i make this bread a lot.i ran out of people to give it to .so i froze three starters in bags.left one out for myself.i skip everything go srtaight to main batter at day ten,do mush the bag and let the air out.i also use my hand mixer and metal pan ,i use only applesauce no oil.i even made the bread after two days in beeing in the bag and it came out the same.the amish didnt have metal or electric mixers this was in the olden days thats why it says not to use metal or your mixer.my bread allways turns out fine and when i come to my last one out of the freezer.i do the whole process ,and then i freeze my three bags again.i even make bigger loaves and cup cakes ,i add what my kiddos like .i also freeze the bread in parchment paper and foil.it allways tastes fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My sister-in-law was leaving on a trip the day before making the bread so gave me the starter. I knew I wouldn't have time for another 5 days so I fed it. Her's was in a zippy bag so it was easy to keep. I was at a loss and left the bag open, didn't want an accidental explosion. By the time I was ready, the mixture was VERY sour-smelling but figured I'd try anyway. Also had to use Butterscotch pudding mix. I wasn't sure how much starter to use so I guessed at 1 1/2 cups. Well... it WORKED!!! Very tasty, not sour, not too sweet. I'm quite amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Awesome starting point. I made this in baggies instead (& good thing I did. We took an emergency 18 hr trip on day 6-10. Not possible with a casserole dish.) and "mushed" them every day. I did try this with Splenda (straight splenda, not a baking mix) & used the bread 1 recipe on this site. The splenda bag would balloon up within minutes, but not have any more air until the next day you add ingrediants. It also smelled a lot more sour than the suger mix. This was controlled (same flour, milk, & yeast in both) so I would expect the same disappointing results every time. May work with Splenda + sugar baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stormyyskyy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Worked just like the starter I'd received from friends previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I had received the info on how to make this bread but it did not include the starter; which I received here. Thank you for posting it. Now I can make it and pass it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States