Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I have received starters in the past and the bread is amazing. I have tried twice now to create my own starter and it is not fermenting and bubbling like all the others I have done. I have always received them in a gallon size ziplock bag and told to keep it sealed and let the gas out each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made the Friendship Bread Starter as written, except for regular milk, I used acidophilus milk and another using Lactaid they both turned out perfect. A good tip to remember when dissolving active dry yeast, never stir the yeast with a spoon, let it dissolve on it's own without stirring or it will effect the outcome of yeast to liquid ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My Mom made this bread all the time when I was little, but her starter died. I found this recipe online and she made a new batch of starter, and we got to try the first batch of muffins from this recipe saturday and they were exactly what I remembered! Loaves are good, we like to make little muffins out of them. If you can find a cornbread pan, that makes them even better. The thickness and size works great for the recipe. I also like to put cinnamon chips in mine. Chocolate chips are good too. Very easy to experiment and try new things with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this and followed the recipe exactly and did everything I was suppose to for the ten days and it turned out great! I made Pancakes with this starter and there were really good I haven't had Sourdough Pancakes before and I was really impressed. I will definitely make this Starter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
i love this recipe, and know you can freeze the starter. my question is, can you just go ahead and bake using the starter as soon as it's thawed or do you have to go through the whole 10 day process again, and the day that it's thawed is day 1?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Growing up this was a special treat, that we could not have often; I recently tried one and it was not at all what I remember - so I did some research and found that today's breads are, as most things "quickened".. I do not prefer this kind- the authentic recipes are much bette. Another interesting thing I found out is that this bread is not Amish! Lol it can not be traced to them at all, isn't that funny?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very good. More a cake than a bread, think banana bread texture. Nice light cinnamon flavor. I chopped a large granny smith apple into the batter before baking. With all the sugar in the recipe it cut the sweetness. I now have 3 cups of starter to freeze and one to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I put the starter in a freezer bag. Makes it easy to stir, just squeeze the bag. Just remember to let the air out each day. It's also a good way to store it in the fridge or freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Not exactly sure how to rate this. I followed "Olga"'s recipe from the first page on how to make traditional starter---1c milk-1c flour and 1c sugar. Let it sit 5 days and repeated. On day 10 I made my bread and it came out FLAT and extremely sugary. It may have been me as a novice but I will follow a recipe with less sugar and with yeast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Love this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States