Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I love making this bread and giving it as gifts. The only problem is, I worked and baking during the week was a problem for me; also, no one wants the excess starter. I have solved these problems. I set my routine up on an 8-day cycle rather than a 10 day cycle and cut the feeding volumes down to 1/4 cup. DAY 1: Receive ¼ cup of starter (best if done on saturday or sunday, if you work weekdays) Store starter in a plastic sandwich baggie or quart size baggie. DAYS 1-3 (Sat-Sun-Mon): squeeze the bag several times (release air, if needed) DAY 4 (Tue): add ¼ cup each of flour, sugar, milk, squeeze bag to mix ingredients DAYS 5-7 (W-Th-F): squeeze the bag several times (release air, if needed) DAY 8 (Sat): baking day: pour batter into a large NON-METAL BOWL and add: ¼ cup each of: flour, sugar, milk; mix with a RUBBER SPATULA OR WOODEN SPOON. Pour ¼ cup of batter back into a new plastic bag to keep as your starter. Bake your bread as directed in recipe. This routine allows you to always do the bread baking on the weekend and the reduced amounts of feeding guarantees No excess starter to worry about forcing on friends! Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Thank-you so much for making this recipe available. I have searched it seems like forever to find it. I lost mine when we moved and truely miss making this wonderful bread. Again THANK-YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My family love the Friendship Bread. I froze the extra starter to use at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I used Wheat Flour and Honey instead of Syrup and it taste amazing. The Wheat does get alot of air in it though... Taste great and it alot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I love this and lost my starter but then i found this one and love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I have received starters in the past and the bread is amazing. I have tried twice now to create my own starter and it is not fermenting and bubbling like all the others I have done. I have always received them in a gallon size ziplock bag and told to keep it sealed and let the gas out each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made the Friendship Bread Starter as written, except for regular milk, I used acidophilus milk and another using Lactaid they both turned out perfect. A good tip to remember when dissolving active dry yeast, never stir the yeast with a spoon, let it dissolve on it's own without stirring or it will effect the outcome of yeast to liquid ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My Mom made this bread all the time when I was little, but her starter died. I found this recipe online and she made a new batch of starter, and we got to try the first batch of muffins from this recipe saturday and they were exactly what I remembered! Loaves are good, we like to make little muffins out of them. If you can find a cornbread pan, that makes them even better. The thickness and size works great for the recipe. I also like to put cinnamon chips in mine. Chocolate chips are good too. Very easy to experiment and try new things with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this and followed the recipe exactly and did everything I was suppose to for the ten days and it turned out great! I made Pancakes with this starter and there were really good I haven't had Sourdough Pancakes before and I was really impressed. I will definitely make this Starter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
i love this recipe, and know you can freeze the starter. my question is, can you just go ahead and bake using the starter as soon as it's thawed or do you have to go through the whole 10 day process again, and the day that it's thawed is day 1?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States