Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Something went wrong and Im not sure what. I had the bubbles during the 10 days however when I made my first loafs, they turned out hard as a rock! Someone please help if you have suggestions. Tried the cinnamon bread. I have had Amish bread made by someone else so I know its very yummy... Just not sure where I went wrong! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I lost my starter awhile back and was very happy to get my starter recipe back. I love this bread and want to try a pumpkin version by adding a cup of pumpkin! Thanks again! Happy again in Oregon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Have done this with a number of friends. Had it going for quite a while. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimsgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Problem I have with this: something not right in the last instruction. After starting with 3 cups of flour, 3 cups of sugar and 3 cups of milk, then, during the process adding another 2 cups of flour, 2 cups sugar and 2 cups of milk, you have way more than 4 cups of starter. Other recipes say to remove 4 cups of starter and use the remaining starter to make bread with. My first batch was terribly runny and all the additions sank to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Jean Cifizzari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My husband makes starter bread every 10 days and gives it away. We have no one to give the starters to so he doubles the recipe and it turns out just fine. He varies the flavoring from week to week so that his gifts don't get boring by adding pumpkin pie spice, apple pie spice, cake spice, ect. He always adds 1/2 the cinnamon and then 1/2 the other flavor. Also, he always doubles the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It worked beautifully with the Amish Friendship Bread I recipe. I caught wild yeast though instead of using store bought yeast. See the Sourdough no commercial yeast recipe for how to start the sourdough and then start adding the milk, sugar and flour after the sourdough starter is done with its first cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This recipe is THE BEST. #1 for how easy it is, and #2 for how versatile it is. I hadn't made it in years and hubby came home from work about 10 days ago (LOL) with a starter from a co-worker. I'm now at home full time but have 3 son-in-laws all in the military. So I've decided to use up all of my batter except the re-starter 1-cup and bake breads & muffins to send over to the troops!! (providing that the boys share LOL) So if anyone else wants to bake for the troops and don't know a good recipient, I have several addresses to share. Happy baking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
the review left by baked is exactly how i remember this bread to be made. lost the recipe years ago. thank goodness it is available :) thumbs up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Super Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States