Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I was given a bag of the starter for the amish bread, I made it , it was very good, but I forgot and used a wire wish, did not hurt it at all, I gave 3 bags of starter to friends and they also had great bread, i think the amish just does not want to use metal, and the reason you burp the air out of the bag makes a difference, if you don't it will spoil. i read somewhere on here that you let the air in, it is to let the air or gas out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Perhaps I'm missing something. The recipe looks like a basic quickbread; there is no kneading or rise time, so why the need for yeast? The baking powder and baking soda will provide all the leavening, and continue working long after the yeast have expired in the oven. I can see the starter adding some sourness from the acid produced during fermentation, but you can get this from other means, such as sour cream, buttermilk, even apple cider. Anyway, I received the starter from a friend, fed it properly, it was bubbly and happy and sour+sweet tasting. The baked bread tasted perfectly good, but no hint of the starter in there, and no different from other quick breads I've made. Just a good spice bread. Which would have gotten 4 stars if not for the trouble of keeping the useless starter around. As olga mentions elsewhere in the reviews, a real sourdough starter is much more fun to keep and use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
this is great. i set aside one day for baking. put one starter in the freezer. and make 4 different batches/flavors of bread. that way i don't have to give any away. the plastic bag works, i just let air into it every day. jilljill51
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I have been making this bread for years and it is wonderful. My family loves it so much I try to keep the starter going as long as I can. I use it to make pancakes, waffles, biscuits, rolls, cinnamon rolls, cookies...the list goes on. I have found that with a little creativity and paceints you can make just about anything. I also got tired of the gallon sized bag on my counter so I invested in a pretty glass crock. For those of you having problems with bubbles...it might not be warm enough on your counter so try puting it in the oven overnight (my oven is always a little warm inside) ~JUST DON'T TURN IT ON!~ this will keep it free from drafts and the little bit of heat will help it ferment. Just don't forget to take it out in the morning. Happy baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I gave it 5 stars because I love Amish Friendship Bread, but I have a question. I have a son who can't have milk, so I made a starter with soy milk instead. I saw where people had made the bread with soy milk and it turned out fine, but no one has mentioned making the starter out of it. The problem is that it keeps separating in the bag. Should I throw it out and start over or is it still good? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
when i bake it on the 10th day i always add 1 tsp. of nutmeg...yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I've had such bad luck with starters that I was dreading starting this one. I had no reason to worry. This one was perfect! I couldn't be happier. I called my Dad and told him about it and found out that this is the same starter he used for the friendship bread he made for us kids when we were little. I can't wait to get started baking my friendship bread. Thank you times infinity for the person who shared this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I love this bread! I tried a couple of variations, like instead of the vanilla pudding i added banana and instead of cinnamon i tried raisins, chocolate chips, nuts. The only thing is i run out of people to give the starter too? does anyone know how you can split this recipe so that you only leave one starter and not four? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I have been looking for this recipe forever!! Wow, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daiziemae
Home Town: Lead, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe!!! I have also made friendship MUFFINS with this recipe. It makes about 18 muffins. Bake for 20 minutes. Delicious!!! Great for parties, bake sales and the kids LOVE to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States