Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This starter has been going around and around my church and office for a while now so I'm glad that I can now take a little break and make it at a later time. I kept making it because I didn't want to lose the starter. I haven't tried freezing the starter, but the bread made with it freezes very well. I'm so thankful for all of the suggestions from other reviews. Next time I'll make it with bananas or apples or maybe even zucchini. All sound yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I love Amish Friendship Bread and was happy to have found this starter recipe. It works with excellant results and is just what I need to start a Friendship Bread circulating to be enjoyed. Follow the directions and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
very good..i got a starter kit ten days ago and made bread today..it was delish! We already ate half of it!! Will def. make again soon..in ten days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The bread from my original starter turned out wonderful. Everyone commented how good it was. I tried freezing the starter and it did not bubble and have air in the bag while laying out for 10 days. I did not try bread with it so I don't if the starter is good or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
So easy to make, but it stinks as it ages. I followed the advice of other reviewers here by covering the plastic bowl with a paper towel and using only wooden spoons to stir the recipe once per day. The mixture never stopped bubbling up for me. However, I used self-rising flour (as it was on hand), so I wonder if that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Wondreful starter. I even carried a cup from AZ to OR for my daughter over Christmas. She is always thanking me for the starter. They love the bread. We do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona Staudinger Kenison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Wonderful and tasted great! I added candied fruit and used brown sugar splenda blend and splenda. Next time, chocolate pudding and candied cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Thank you so much! So far so good :) I botched my last batch of bread and was so worried because I didn't have another starter... Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The starter was easy to do but the bread just didnt work very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this starter and baked the bread, but I didn't see where it said not to use metal containers or utensils when making this. The bread turned out okay but it was a little dry and overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States