Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The bread from my original starter turned out wonderful. Everyone commented how good it was. I tried freezing the starter and it did not bubble and have air in the bag while laying out for 10 days. I did not try bread with it so I don't if the starter is good or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
So easy to make, but it stinks as it ages. I followed the advice of other reviewers here by covering the plastic bowl with a paper towel and using only wooden spoons to stir the recipe once per day. The mixture never stopped bubbling up for me. However, I used self-rising flour (as it was on hand), so I wonder if that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Wondreful starter. I even carried a cup from AZ to OR for my daughter over Christmas. She is always thanking me for the starter. They love the bread. We do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona Staudinger Kenison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Wonderful and tasted great! I added candied fruit and used brown sugar splenda blend and splenda. Next time, chocolate pudding and candied cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Thank you so much! So far so good :) I botched my last batch of bread and was so worried because I didn't have another starter... Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAKNIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The starter was easy to do but the bread just didnt work very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this starter and baked the bread, but I didn't see where it said not to use metal containers or utensils when making this. The bread turned out okay but it was a little dry and overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I use a variety of pudding flavors. With banana cream, I add walnuts. Pistatio is great and I add almonds and it's very Christmasy. Chocolate pudding and chocolate chips, coconut cream, butterscotch are also good! Even adding more cinnamon and some raisins makes a great breakfast bread. Be creative! this is a great recipe that my family loves! I haven't found anything that doesn't work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
the best I love this bread when i lost my stater bowl to power outig i thaught i would never get to it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I was given a bag of the starter for the amish bread, I made it , it was very good, but I forgot and used a wire wish, did not hurt it at all, I gave 3 bags of starter to friends and they also had great bread, i think the amish just does not want to use metal, and the reason you burp the air out of the bag makes a difference, if you don't it will spoil. i read somewhere on here that you let the air in, it is to let the air or gas out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 111-120 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States