Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
So then what part of this starter recipe do we go by? The listed ingredients that say 3cups each of flour/milk/sugar or the directions that states 1 cup flour/milk/sugar? Please let me know. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I didn't add the yeast, just the sugar, milk and flour and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I was looking online for the starter and finally i will stick to this one. My sister gave me a starter about 4 months ago and I made so much bread because I ran out of friends to give out starters too. So now i have no starter and my family is anxious to eat Amish bread again for months in a row lol.....This is the best starter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
very good starter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
in the recipe that I have it reads as follows...Day 2-5 Mash Bag...Day 6 add 1 c flour 1 c sugar 1 c milk and mash bag...Day 7-9 mash bag...Day 10 pour into glass bowl and add 1-1/2c flour 1 1/2c sugar 1 1/2c milk...separate 4-1cup portions into zip lock gallon bags....to remaining mixture in glass bowl add 3 eggs 1c oil (or 1/2c oil and 1/2c applesauce) 1/2c milk 1c sugar 2tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp vanilla 1 1/2tsp baking soda 1/2tsp salt 2c flour 1 large box instant pudding any flavor and (optional 1c raisins, coconut, chopped nuts, chocolate chips, etc....Grease 2 large loaf pans and add batter evenly into pans...bake in preheated 325 oven for 1 hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I love this bread but I cannot eat much as I have food allergies. Has anyone made the starter with spelt flour or rice flour and use soy milk? Are the measurements the same for the ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I use a ziploc bag for the 10 days and it is so easy!! Also I have frozen this starter with no problems and made more starter out of that batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This starter is amazing, and I love to use starters made the old fashioned way, but I have found an even easier way to achieve the results without having to have a starter at all, for those who posted about this. One day, I realized that I had allowed my culture to die and thought I'd have to throw it out, but then thought to substitute buttermilk for the milk in the recipe. I make my own buttermilk, but I'm sure any with live cultures would work. I kept the rest of the recipe the same and the bread is very close to the original. So, for this method, mix 3/4 cup each of flour, sugar, and milk, and then continue with the recipe, substituting buttermilk for the milk in the remainder of the recipe. I do a double batch each time, so if you only want 2 loaves instead of 4, you need to make the base with about a 1/3 of a cup for each ingredient. I hope this helps those who don't like to keep starters on the counter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This starter is great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I had used this starter moons ago & was delighted to be given a new starter 2 months ago. Before reading all the reviews I was ready to dump extra starters as I was having a hard time finding homes for my new "pets". All the hints about reducing the amount of feeder added on day 6 & day 10 are helpful. Best of all, I have read it's fine to freeze starter. I have found that adding 1 small box of pudding to the bread mix for baking works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States