Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I first ran into this recipe 35 years ago when I was married to a man who HATED fruitcake. We had always had fruitcake for Christmas & New Year's so I knew my family would expect it. I made my basic fruitcake using this as a base, added a little cardamom to make it more like what he was used to from northern Europe and Voila! best Christmas cake ever! You can make it with anything... pumpkin, sweet potatoes, zucchini, actually any grated squash, carrots, parsnips, beets, potatoes (amp up the spices a little), apples, pears, firm peaches or plums, figs, raisins, dates, currants, gooseberries, aronia, goji, loganberries, honeyberries, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, cranberries or blueberries (fresh or dried), any dried fruit, any nuts (I prefer them unsalted), or mix them up however you like for your own unique fruitcake recipe. Yes, you may make it with soy, rice or almond or other nut milk, you just may need to adjust for consistency on day 10. Experiment! Use your imagination! Same with spices. Try mace instead of nutmeg (gentler); allspice in place of cloves. Cardamom has been my secret ingredient for years. Those who have never had those crispy, brown German Christmas cookies usually don't recognise the flavor. So, maybe a batch doesn't turn out so well. You'd be amazed what does. Yellow beets or carrots will have everyone wondering. Whenever I had starter left over, I just baked it & sent it to work with my husband, or gave it to my stepsons to share around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
YOU SHOULD HAVE PUT THE REST OF THE RECIPE ON HERE. FOR THOSE WHO DON'T KNOW HERE IT IS. Day 9 - stir Day 10 - Add 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup milk. Divide into 4 containers, with 1 cup each for three of your friends and 1 cup for your own loaves. Give friends the instructions for Day 1 through Day 10 and the following recipe for baking the bread. After removing the 3 cups of batter, combine the remaining cup of Amish Friendship Bread starter with the following ingredients in a large bowl: 2/3 cup oil 3 eggs 1/2 tsp. salt 1 tsp. vanilla 1 to 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon 1 cup sugar 2 cups flour 1 1/4 tsp. baking powder 1/2 tsp. baking soda Using a fork beat by hand until well blended. You can add 1 cup raisins and 1 cup nuts (optional). Grease two loaf pans with butter, sprinkle with sugar instead of flour. Bake at 325 degrees F for 45 minutes to 1 hour (individual oven temperatures vary). Cool 10 minutes, remove from pans. Makes two loaves of Amish Friendship Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
used it many times was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is a nice enough sweet dessert-y bread. But I just finished my first batch and my suspicions are confirmed. It is unnecessary to go through the whole 10 day period of mixing and waiting, etc. If you think about what you are creating, you will understand. You start with a gift of what is essentially a yeast sourdough base. You then feed the yeast over the course of the 10 days and then make your bread. Here's my problem with the whole thing: once you have built up this fabulous baggie full of yeast and sourdough base, you add whatever flavor ingredients you want and throw it in the oven. The last step completely negates the fact that you have a yeasty mixture! You don't let the bread raise from the CO2 produced by the yeast! You add a bunch of ingredients and bake it...those ingredients include leaveners such as baking powder and baking soda. So although this bread is relatively tasty (especially when you add a handful of white chocolate and butterscotch chips!) waiting the 10 days is just unnecessary. I would be willing to bet if you took all of the ingredients and threw them together and put them in the oven, you would get the same result. (With the exception of whatever yeasty flavor the yeast mixture adds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My mother and I have been making Amish Friendship Bread for years. She and I have made several variations and haven't been disappointed by a single batch! This starter makes delicious bread, and is fun to make and share with friends. Instead of using a mixing bowl, I combine the ingredients in a gallon ziplock bag kneading the outside rather than mixing with a spoon. It works great and requires less clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love this . Sharing it with my daugther in law
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
super so glad i found y'all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This turned out just like I remember, yum, The recipe I have always used is like Baked, exactly. I have also done what others have said and bake each week, by only starting with 1/4 cup mixes and additions. So perfect. I don't share starts, I bake them all, I give alot away, share baked goods with my kids at church
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I got my starter from a friend but have been 'keeping' it for about six years. It is really not that difficult. If it is fed every 3-4 days 1/2 - 1 cup of each, flour sugar, milk it will keep active. If you have too much just put it in the freezer until ready to bake again. It will come back to 'life' in a couple of hours, feed it and get ready to bake again :-). I keep mine in a 2 quart pitcher. I love it for many cake and muffin recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I got this recipe from a friend 2 years ago. Loved it, but stopped making the bread and didn't have the starter part of the recipe. Now I can make it for the grandkids (and me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States