Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My mother and I have been making Amish Friendship Bread for years. She and I have made several variations and haven't been disappointed by a single batch! This starter makes delicious bread, and is fun to make and share with friends. Instead of using a mixing bowl, I combine the ingredients in a gallon ziplock bag kneading the outside rather than mixing with a spoon. It works great and requires less clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love this . Sharing it with my daugther in law
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
super so glad i found y'all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This turned out just like I remember, yum, The recipe I have always used is like Baked, exactly. I have also done what others have said and bake each week, by only starting with 1/4 cup mixes and additions. So perfect. I don't share starts, I bake them all, I give alot away, share baked goods with my kids at church
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I got my starter from a friend but have been 'keeping' it for about six years. It is really not that difficult. If it is fed every 3-4 days 1/2 - 1 cup of each, flour sugar, milk it will keep active. If you have too much just put it in the freezer until ready to bake again. It will come back to 'life' in a couple of hours, feed it and get ready to bake again :-). I keep mine in a 2 quart pitcher. I love it for many cake and muffin recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I got this recipe from a friend 2 years ago. Loved it, but stopped making the bread and didn't have the starter part of the recipe. Now I can make it for the grandkids (and me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I have tried this recipe and lost it ---now that winter is upon us will make again --good stuff --thanks a bunch--my whole family will thank you --at thanksgiving---and my Sunday School members will thank you --I bake for them each Sunday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I love making this! And so does my best friend. Everyone else loves to eat it, but they 'can't be bothered' with the 10 days... If you freeze it, it keeps very well. Just remember where you are in the 10 days, and pick up where you left off! So, so, so yummy! You can also use a flavored pudding when baking to change the taste, but using the vanilla is the best, in my opinion. Banana is a close second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is the easiest thing to do. If, at the end, you have noone to give the starters to, do them all yourself and freeze the loaves. If the bag doesn't bubble everyday, no biggie. just squish and mush anyway. It will be fine. I live amongst the Amish and I can tell you they don't measure carefully or worry about how many bubbles were in the bag. Just relax and enjoy! BTW, i chop up apples in mine. With the cinnamon... it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This starter batter was going well. I have active yeast for the sour dough, and the right ingredients to add to make it a Thanksgiving Pumpkin bread (pumpkin puree, spices, and nuts). So, I realize that I was getting carried away as I added the 1 cup pumpkin puree on the 5th day (NOT the 10th day = BAKING DAY)! You are wondering if the batter went rancid? Nope. All set on Day 10, I added a second 1 cup of pumpkin puree, not too much spices, 4 tbsp of oil, 2 cups of flour, 2 medium eggs. Just so you know, the batter is quite gum-like. I cooked mine at a lower-temp for longer to make sure it was completely cooked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States