Amish Friendship Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This is the recipe we love. It's much better than the ones out there that include pudding mixes! We think this is much healthier and rises better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I made several versions of amish friendship bread and this was the one that everyone loved. It's hard to please everytone - which consists of 6 kids and a husband. Thanks for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
wierd. i guess i'm the only one who thought that this bread was dry and...eh. i made the other amish bread (w/vanilla pudding) last night and that one came out so much moister than this one. also, by 50 minutes this one was burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe is far better and healthier than the original friendship bread. I substituted some of the white flour for whole wheat and grated the apples and nuts to make them more acceptable to my children. It makes a very moist and delicious breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe. I made two changes; I omitted the nuts as my boyfriend is allergic. I also substituted pumpkin puree for the oil. The bread did get brown long before the inside was done; 40 minutes in I turned the temp down to 325 and gave it another 15 minutes to cook it all the way through. The taste is great though, just the right amount of cinnamon and apples. UPDATE: Made this again, using the exact ingredients as the recipe states. I put some in muffin tins and they took about 15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by LuvsRecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was my first attempt with making friendship bread and I decided to use this recipe with my starter that was given by a neighbor. What a wonderfully, delicious cake like bread. I chose to make this in 1 Bundt pan rather than making two loaves. I added just a sprinkling of nutmeg to the batter. Then I sprinkled with confectionary sugar after baking. Baking time in the Bundt pan took 45-50 minutes at the 350 degrees. I set my timer to check with a cake tester 5 minutes earlier to help prevent drying out and over baking. My first slice I tried plain, loved it. The second slice I tried with peanut butter. YUMMY! This bread went perfectly with a cup of coffee. I decided to send a sample slice of this bread and recipe to the people I pass the starter onto. After trying this recipe, I decided to keep a starter for myself and start over, so I can make this bread again and also freezing a starter to use at a later time. For those that don’t have the starter, you can find the recipe for “Amish Friendship Bread Starter” here at All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvsRecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Great Great Bread, except I had to use 3/4 of my batter just to get the bread tall enough. This recipes needs to be adjusted for that fact. It's never tall enough, unless you use most of your batter on one loaf instead of two. I used applesauce also and threw some mashed bananas in. Very Moist and Yummy!! I reduced temp to 325, to risk browning prematurely, Looks perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
To: KIJEST, Perhaps your oven is hotter than normal, I used to get "burned" Amish friendship bread and breads in general because my ovens thermostat was going bad and couldn't regulate my oven properly. I replaced it and used this recipe again for the full 50 minutes, it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittenangel2001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Adrian, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
Absolutely delicious. My co-workers went wild for it and keep asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
Excellent bread! Family loved it. Kids thought it was great fun to make and eat. Loved it with peanut butter spread on it after school. Husband enjoyed it toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States