Amish Friendship Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Bread was moist and delicious. Not too sweet. I added a streusel topping which my family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is an excellent recipe and I got raving remarks for it from my family. A good way of using up my apples too.The only extra thing that i did was, I sprinkled my loaf pan with 2T sugar and 1tsp cinnamon, placed it in mid-lower rack, and baked it for 50-53 minutes. I like the edges to be dark and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a great version for friendship bread. I love the apples and cinnamon combination. This recipe also has a lot less sugar than other friendship bread recipes and doesn't require pudding mix, which I rarely have on hand. My family thinks the bread is a real treat. I put one loaf in the freezer while we eat the other one as breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This is THE best bread ever. The apples make it utterly delicious! I used 2 tsp of cinnamon and omitted the nuts. I made this for my husband's 96 year old grandmother and she said I had to bring more when we visited - she never asks for anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a big hit! I thought two apples was going to be too much but it was great! Perfect blend of cinnamon and not too sweet. I used Granny Smith Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is an absolutely delicious way to use up the starter. Very rich and flavorful cake. I made it as written but leaving out the nuts as the kids aren't crazy about them. My whole family loved this bread/cake, and it's even better after the first day. I made it in a Bundt pan and it took exactly 50 minutes to bake. I'm going to double the cinnamon next time to try it as a spicier bread, but it's delicious as written, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuvsRecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was my first attempt with making friendship bread and I decided to use this recipe with my starter that was given by a neighbor. What a wonderfully, delicious cake like bread. I chose to make this in 1 Bundt pan rather than making two loaves. I added just a sprinkling of nutmeg to the batter. Then I sprinkled with confectionary sugar after baking. Baking time in the Bundt pan took 45-50 minutes at the 350 degrees. I set my timer to check with a cake tester 5 minutes earlier to help prevent drying out and over baking. My first slice I tried plain, loved it. The second slice I tried with peanut butter. YUMMY! This bread went perfectly with a cup of coffee. I decided to send a sample slice of this bread and recipe to the people I pass the starter onto. After trying this recipe, I decided to keep a starter for myself and start over, so I can make this bread again and also freezing a starter to use at a later time. For those that don’t have the starter, you can find the recipe for “Amish Friendship Bread Starter” here at All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvsRecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I just made my first loaf of Amish Friendship Bread with my first try at a Amish Friendship Starter. I followed a recipe I found here for starter and it's great. I think it will be even better as the starter matures, becomes a little bolder, but I love the soft taste of this bread. I pulled the loaf (I only have one 9x5" pan, so I used an 11x13". Shaped like a cake, but whatever. I'll get a second tomorrow!) and shared a piece with my husband and brother in law. We all had our eyes popping out of our heads. I didn't have vanilla extract and I added a tad more cinnamon, because I love it. Again, it's awesome! And I feel good about experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
i uised bread flour instead of all purpose flour for a lighter loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Cooking wise, this turned out great. I followed the recipe exact. I was was a little concerned that they might be a little too heavy, as the batter was really thick, but it turned out just fine. I covered both loaves with tinfoil halfway through to prevent the tops from burning. Smelled wonderful. I won't be sampling these myself, as these will be Christmas gifts that I'm freezing until that time, but I'll update when I hear how good they were. This recipe made two regular sized loaves and took me about an hour and twenty minutes to bake fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States